Myong J. Joun’s Reviews

Myong J. Joun

Average Rating

Based on 14 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent Lawyer!

    Posted by Jim, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong 6-12 months ago.
    • Myong handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Myong Joun put me at ease the moment I entered his office. I had talked to a few other lawyers about my case before I met Myong. He had the best strategy for me and his fee was very reasonable. I would recommend him highly!

  2. Un-interested lawyer

    Posted by Ben,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Responsive
     Poor
    Kept me informed
     Poor
    • I do not recommend Myong Joun.

    I emailed this lawyer but I never received a response from him.
    I expected a response whether he was interested or not with my
    case.

    1. Myong J. Joun

      Myong J. Joun

      Lawyer Comment:

      My apologies to Ben. Everyone who contacts me should receive a prompt response. I take this issue very seriously and am researching why I never received Ben's email. I have also tweaked my spam filter settings so that this does not occur again. If you do not receive an email response from me, please try following up with a phone call.

      Posted 11 months ago. Flag

  3. Great Lawyer

    Posted by Chevanese, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong more than 3 years ago.
    • Myong handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. Joun worked hard on my case and kept me informed the entire process. He believed in me and that meant a lot especially given how anxious I was throughout my case. He knows the law and will work hard to help you. I am very thankful for having him as my lawyer.

  4. An outstanding defense lawyer

    Posted by Shaun, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong more than 3 years ago.
    • Myong handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    Myong has been an absolutely outstanding lawyer. Although I've worked with lawyers in the past on cases involving others, this was the first time I've faced criminal charges--a scary experience. Myong took me through the process with exceptional patience, responsiveness, and expertise. He was always completely honest and straightforward with his advice and always put my interests and wishes first, even when it meant more work for him (eg, several careful, detailed discussions about accepting a plea, which I ultimately declined). After a unbelievably drawn-out process (thanks to the police, DA, and courts) all charges were dismissed! I would recommend Myong without hesitation to anyone seeking counsel in his areas of practice.

  5. Myong Joun Saves the Day, Big Time...

    Posted by Asher, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong 1-3 years ago.
    • Myong handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was [allegedly] beat up by the Worcester Police, MA., and although their behavior was [allegedly] completely unacceptable and unprofessional, I did not have the evidence necessary to press charges effectively against them. However, they were more than happy to press charges against me, 2 charges that had some truth to them and another charge that was completely made-up (in an effort to justify the violent action they took against me) and with 5 officers involved in my assult and pressing charges, things were not looking good.
    Myong made the risks of pursuing charges against the police clear to me, as well as other, better, alternatives; alternatives which would be much more likely to keep my future safe, and also far more likely to keep thousands of dollars in court, doctors, and attorney fees in my pockets. He spelled out the details of the various possibilities, the outcomes he considered most likely, and the possible and likely consequences of going down each avenue.
    Ultimately, I wanted these charges to go away without losing my health insurance (government assisted health-insurance would have disappeared had any of the charges stuck, even misdemeaners) and I also didn't want tens of thousands of dollars to go down the drain pursuing justice, when in this case, justice would be unlikely (nice system we've got here - nice for the police anyways, since they are above the law that governs the rest of us.)
    Ultimately, after I had asked all the questions I wanted answered, and after I felt that I understood the circumstances and what I was going up against, I agreed with Myong that the best way to go about things would be to take responsibility for my part in the situation, and to try to make the charges disappear with a plea-bargain. Since there were 3 charges against me, even going in this direction had it's own risks, and although things could have still gone against me, it seemed like the safest way to go.
    Myong kept me well-informed throughout the process, and when all is said and done, he was able to have the prosecution and the judge to agree to drop 2 of the 3 charges, and to have the remaining charge resulting in a "continuance without a finding" (something that is equivalent to making the charge disappear if I were to go on probation and avoid any trouble for a predetermined amount of time.) In this outcome, Myong managed to secure - what I believe to be - the shortest probation period possible, of 6 months, without requiring me to see a probation officer, and allowing me to be able to leave the state as I wished during this period.
    From what I understand, an outcome as positive as this was unusual, and unlikely considering the circumstances, but it seems that Myong represented me very well, excellently really, and I do not believe that there could have been any outcome as positive as this for me.
    Because of Myong, my health care is secure, my future is secure, and I thank him, eternally grateful for making this stressful headache go away. Had I hired a different lawyer, I could be in a very bad situation right now and my health could have started to decline, with no hope for getting better (as my conditions are very reactive to stress, and there was certainly enough stress to make my conditions worsen and deteriorate, just after they have finally gone into remission after 3 years of hard work.) This situation indirectly, had life and death possible-consequences for me, and I am convinced that, indirectly, Myong has been as much of a literal life-saver as the best of my doctors.
    I highly recommend Myong's services to any person considering him, and I am thankful to him beyond words!

  6. Incredible lawyer! Myong was everything I needed in a lawyer and so much more!

    Posted by Anthony, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong more than 3 years ago.
    • Myong handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I was falsely accused of a crime I did not commit. Many lawyers wanted me to plea out. Myong was the first lawyer who took the time to listen to me. I mean REALLY listen to me. He then went to work for me. He was an expert. He filed motions for discovery, motions to dismiss and a motion to suppress. He fought for me like no one else would. After knocking out some of the charges on motions, he took the remaining charges to trial. Myong was a brilliant advocate who convinced a jury of my peers to find me NOT GUILTY on all charges. Myong has my highest recommendation. I will not hesitate to send my friends and family to him if they are ever in the awful position of being accused of a crime like I was. Thanks to Myong, I have my life back.

  7. Above & beyond

    Posted by Eli, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong more than 3 years ago.
    • Myong handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Myong was referred to me by the National Lawyers Guild, and even though I got in touch with him so close to my hearing date, AND he had an appointment at the time of my hearing, Myong went out of his way to accompany me to court and it was such an incredible relief.

    Once in court, Myong's experience shined through. His comfort and knowledge navigating the court system was reassuring, and his expertise landed me the best imaginable outcome. He really went above and beyond the call of duty, and I'm forever grateful.

  8. A Conscientious, Capable, and Personable Attorney of Top-Level Professionalism and Character

    Posted by a Speeding Ticket client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong more than 3 years ago.
    • Myong handled my Speeding / Traffic Ticket matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr. Joun completely embodied what everyone prays to find in a lawyer - a highly capable, conscientious, and knowledgeable individual who does the best job possible for a client out of a top-level sense of professionalism and personal character. From the moment I first spoke with him, I felt personally comfortable and at-ease and became confident that he would have my best interests at heart and would responsibly and efficiently aid me in my situation (as opposed to other lawyers I contacted, including a well-known and advertised lawyer in the field who made me feel like a number and like he was more interested in collecting my fees than in helping me). When in personal face-to-face discussion, Mr. Joun was attentive, clear, professional, thorough, and open in explaining the details and process of my case, as well what would be required of me and the potential outcomes. He was thorough in his preparation and in preparing me for my court appearance. His fees were very reasonable, seemed fairly structured, and were based relative to the amount of work that was required of my case. He always responded to my questions and concerns in a timely fashion, whether by telephone or email. During my court appearance Mr. Joun presented himself with absolute professionalism and very effectively argued my side of the case. I would whole-heartedly recommend him to anyone seeking counsel in his areas of expertise and if I were ever to need his services again I would not hesitate to use him.

  9. A great Lawyer !!

    Posted by Lorenzo, a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong more than 3 years ago.
    • Myong handled my Domestic Violence matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Mr Joun was great !!! he has gone above and beyond to help me and my family!! i concider him a friend and i know he will work just as hard for anyone else !! i would call him again if i ever needed help !

  10. review

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Myong Joun.
    • I hired Myong more than 3 years ago.
    • Myong handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Very Efficient.