Skip to main content
Jessica Ann Foley

Jessica Foley’s Answers

507 total


  • If all the debt made in my marriage was in my name only, will I be responsible to pay the whole thing back?

    During the course of my marriage, my husband and I gathered about $24,000 in credit card debt, a loan for house repair and other items. Everything was in my name only because he had poor credit. We separated a couple of years ago and he walked a...

    Jessica’s Answer

    You might be able to, the Judge will look at the entire financial picture and the length of the marriage before deciding who is responsible for the debt. You need to try to get your husband to agree to that payment - if you want to file a joint petition. If he doesn't agree, it might not be financially worthwhile to file a Complaint. You need to think about what is the biggest priority for you. If you have time and/or money to fight him on this issue then have at it. If you don't have a lot of time or days off from work to spend in court, or spare cash, then it might be better to leave it alone.

    See question 
  • Can my daughter move in with me?

    My daughter is 17 and will be graduating high school in just a few weeks . She lives with her mother currently but would like to move back in with me she is afraid of being in trouble for choosing to do so . Her mother gives her a very hard time f...

    Jessica’s Answer

    If your daughter can choose per the court's judgment then perhaps a family therapy session? It's a shame that your daughter is stuck in the middle and feels like she can't be honest with her mom.

    See question 
  • Again I repost this question ???? Im Not In Texas I Live In Boston Ma Current And I Miss My Court Date In Texas For Thief .....

    I wanted to know if a lawyer can get me a new court date or a bond for my thief case that i miss court for since i was on a bond when i left Texas and a warrant has been issued for me . Will immigrant renew my green card if i got a warrant and wil...

    Jessica’s Answer

    You should look on AVVO for a lawyer in the area of Texas that you have the warrant in and discuss this matter with them.

    See question 
  • My first offense DUI in PA....but I hold MA license..please help

    I got DUI in PA..moved to PA recently..but I hold MA license..I moved completely out of MA..does MA charge with any convictions like jail and impose fines bases on MA laws...this is mty first offense DUI ...I know PA has first time offender progra...

    Jessica’s Answer

    Massachusetts will penalize your license for the PA case if it's a DUI. You want to make sure Mass gets wind of the charges so that the suspensions run concurrent. It sometimes takes awhile for Mass to get wind of other states DUI's but they eventually will catch up to your Mass license and it will count as a first offense DUI here.

    See question 
  • Was served with a temp restraining order today

    Ex girlfriend had me served today we broke up 3 weeks ago I ran into her once other than that no contact, I don't want a record what should I do I did nothing wrong

    Jessica’s Answer

    You need to go to court to fight it. You can bring a lawyer. If you don't fight it's , it may automatically get issued for up to 1 year.

    See question 
  • How long does it take to set up child support payments through the DOR if the judge ruled that this was how she wanted us paid.

    Been waiting almost a month and still no checks.

    Jessica’s Answer

    It can take a few weeks sometimes but I would call DOR to find out what is going on.

    See question 
  • How come

    Hello everyone,I was just wondering how come it "usually" cost $1500 to fight a $300 ticket. It seems.way extreme. Doesn't it?

    Jessica’s Answer

    I think it depends on The issue but call around. It's not super cheap because it takes up several hours of the lawyers time. Also, it's beneficial to have a lawyer because winning will save more than 1500 over the course of the insurance surcharge.

    See question 
  • I am looking for a MA Attorney for a case in Canton (MA).

    I need an Attorney for an slight amendment of a Separation Decree entered at Norfolk Probate and Family Court in Canton (MA).

    Jessica’s Answer

    Hi, I practice in the Canton Probate Court - as do MANY other lawyers on this site. I'm happy to talk with you.

    See question 
  • Will the DVM arrest me if I go apply for an id with an old warrant?

    I have to get a photo ID for various reasons but I'm afraid I will be arrested on site because of a warrant I currently have.. I also need the ID for court inconveniently ..

    Jessica’s Answer

    Or 11 pm on a Friday night of a long weekend. Go to court first with a lawyer.

    See question 
  • What's next

    I just got my arriangment papers for my felony larceny charges, what should I expect to happen at ccourt? Can I get this over with that day with a plea bargain? I've never been in trouble for anything not even a ticket or parking violation

    Jessica’s Answer

    I would not recommend as general rule to plea the first day you go to court on a felony.
    If you can't afford a lawyer - the court will appoint one at a minimal fee. Otherwise, you should hire an attorney ASAP.
    A felony stays on your record for at least ten years (if you can then seal it), will show up on every time your record is run by an employer or school, and may impact your immigration status if that's applicable.
    It's the Commonwealth's burden to prove that you committed this felony - make them at least show you the proper evidence.

    COURT:
    When you go the first day you will check in with Probation and then they will tell you to report to the Arraignment Session (if you are going to Brockton - Probation is on the first floor and Arraignments are on the fourth floor). The Clerk will call your name and you will go up to the microphone and read the charges and then enter a plea of not guilty and give you a new date. The Clerk will tell you if you are eligible for appointed counsel - if you are you will meet him or her that day and get a new date. If you aren' t eligible you will get a copy of your Complaint and Report and be given a date to come back with an attorney. (If you think you won't qualify you might want to hire an attorney before hand so that he or she can come with you to court.)
    Also, dress appropriately - business casual - it will go a long way.

    See question