Skip to main content
Patrick T. Donovan

Patrick Donovan’s Answers

247 total


  • How does a written warning effect insurance?

    I live in Massachusetts and received a written warning by a Boston Police Officer for speed. She informed me there was no fine and looking online I see there are no further steps that I need to take. Will the warning show up on my RMV driving re...

    Patrick’s Answer

    A warning will not impact your insurance.

    See question 
  • Is there anything legally i can do?

    Idk how to explain this but someone told my cousin that I broke into a basement of a house he had just bought. Now I'm being harassed by my cousin and uncle having things thrown in my face not liter things but verbally attacking me. Thet say they ...

    Patrick’s Answer

    If the police contact you regarding this incident I would strongly advise you not to speak with them until you get a lawyer. You should always have a lawyer with you when you speak with the police.

    See question 
  • My question is... Is it legal for them to wait 8 months to even notify me?

    At the end of May 2015 I was driving in MA on my way north to Maine. I became totally lost but eventually found my way home. On Dec 23, 2015, 227 days (nearly 8 months) later I received a notice that during that trip I somehow made a uturn or w...

    Patrick’s Answer

    Yes it is legal to notify you 8 months after the infraction. If you do not pay the ticket you will be unable to register the vehicle.
    Best of luck

    See question 
  • How can I fight this ticket? I didn't have a sip to drink, neither can I recall any alcohol in the truck at all!!

    A few days ago my truck decided it was time to break. So there I was pulled over on the side of the road unable to move at all. I called AAA and they said they would have a tow truck for me in an hour or so. They asked me where I wanted it towed t...

    Patrick’s Answer

    You have a very good defense in that your were not present when the police wrote the ticket. They wrote it to the registered owner of the car assuming you had been in the car at the time the open container was placed in the car. You should appeal this ticket.

    See question 
  • Will they give me a second extension to pay.

    I was sent To Court for A SHOPLIFTING CASE. I GOT FINE 500. i Payed 259 dollars And Asked For An Extention And They Gave Me 3 Extra Months To Pay The Rest. I only Have Half Of The Remaining $241. Will They Give me A Second Extention?

    Patrick’s Answer

    Probably. Most times as long as you are making some kind of payment judge's will give you additional time. My advice is to make even a small payment the day you are seeking an extension.

    See question 
  • What should I expect

    I got puled over with no license but I wasn't speeding or anything the reason why I got pulled over was because the car registration was revoke but at the end of the day the officer maid a call and everything was fine... It's my first time so ...

    Patrick’s Answer

    If the officer let you drive away and did not give you a citation then chances are you will not have to go to court. If you did get a citation you will likely have to go to court.

    See question 
  • Will the 5 points received by pleading guilty to cell phone use (ref: 1225D) in NY transfer to MA driver's license as is?

    Got ticket for violating the cell phone use law (1225D) in NY, driver is licensed in MA, will the insurance in MA increase? Driver has clean record and this would be first offense in close to 10 years? Will the driver receive any points in his ...

    Patrick’s Answer

    Out of state points are may be add to your license. Currently Mass has an agreement with New Hampshire to report out of state infractions. I am not sure if Mass has an agreement with NY

    See question 
  • Will i be forced to paying again, despite having a permit and being let go by the officer? What happens if my father doesn't go.

    I was previously pulled over and found to be driving without a license, I received the summon, went to court and paid $150 to dismiss the case. Immediately i go to the DMV and get my permit, i am pulled over again one week later - this time gettin...

    Patrick’s Answer

    If you are charged with unlicensed operation the court will not appoint you an attorney because the penalty is only a fine and there is no jail time.
    Your dad could be charged with knowingly allowing an unlicensed operator to drive .That is a criminal offense and if summons he needs go to court.
    The court fine is different than the RMV fine so you will probably end up paying twice.

    See question 
  • He has court on Friday...

    My son needs an attorney he is in jail at the moment he has a good job in the laborers union but didn't save any money and only has about 2500 can he still qualify for a court appointed lawyer if he makes good money but has been in jail and has n...

    Patrick’s Answer

    The Probation Department does an intake and determines if he qualifies for an attorney. Sometime they determine that a person is marginally indigent and requires a higher legal counsel fee.

    See question 
  • What can I expect to happen in court

    Got pulled over for failing to slow down and merge to the left for emergency vehicle and driving without a license in Massachusetts

    Patrick’s Answer

    Unlicensed operation is a criminal charge. You will have to check in with probation and then go to the arraignment session. You will be arraigned on the charge. The prosecutor may want to try to resolve the case or will ask for a pretrial hearing. If you plead on this charge remember the registry will suspend your license even longer on a guilty.

    See question