Richard M Costa’s Reviews

Richard M Costa

Average Rating

Based on 21 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Excellent experience with Costa & Riccio LLP

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.

    My husband and I recently worked with Ellen Davey-Fleming and others on Richard Costa's team at Costa & Riccio LLP to file our green card petition. We were extremely satisfied with the level professionalism, the response time and the clear communications from this firm right from our initial consultation with Mr. Costa and throughout the process of working with Ellen and others (Leah Silverstein, Emma Huse & Erin Freeman) on their team. They were a pleasure to work with and we will gladly recommend them to others.

  2. Great Attorney

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.

    I am finally writing this long overdue review that I intended to write over a year ago!
    I have attended one of Mr. Costa's workshops at my job a while ago, he seemed very experienced in immigration laws and had a great personality. My significant other and myself decided to have a consultation visit at his office to discuss obtaining a green card. He was extremely knowledgeable, very gracious, honest, and straight to the point. He didn't push for us to hire him (unlike other attorneys) and he answered all of our questions and actually I had a question weeks after we visited him, and I just called his office and in no time I got my answer. Our consultation visit was free of charge (other attorneys I contacted charge for a consultation). I am not sure if he normally offers free consultations or if he does so with employees from certain companies/ organizations. Overall, he has a very pleasant personality, easy to talk with, very humble and seemed experienced and knowledgeable. I would recommend him.

  3. the "go-to" immigration attorney in Boston!

    Posted by hassan.tofaily, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.
    • I hired Richard 6-12 months ago.
    • Richard handled my Immigration matter.

    When I received an extensive RFE (request for evidence) from USCIS as to "my change of status to J1 visa" application, I knew that I need a very experienced immigration attorney to help me respond to this RFE to save my application from being denied. A friend of mine referred me to Mr. Costa, I met with him at his office on Tremont Street where we discussed and wrote the response to the RFE. The response was perfectly written that the application got accepted in less than 24 hours after submission! Which is amazing.

    Mr. Costa is very knowledgeable, well-informed, straight forward and honest, he is one of those few attorneys that know the ins and outs of his profession. Based on my experience, Mr. Costa is the "go-to" attorney if you need an immigration attorney.

  4. GREAT team!

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Immigration matter.

    I was referred to Richard and his firm by our organizations International office. Richard was absolutely fantastic from our first meeting. He asked all the right (and hard) questions right away, gave me honest and accurate statistics on my chances, and walked me through all scenarios very patiently. I consider myself quite pesky, since I read up online and then bombard him with questions, but Richard has always responded patiently and accurately. Richard's staff is impeccable too (special shout out to Daphne, his legal aide) - she was extremely responsive, on-top of things, and worked really hard on preparing my package. I got my i140 approval really quickly (and we dodged any RFE) which was great. If you want someone GREAT at their job, who know what they're doing and yet are patient with you - Richard's team should be your first choice!

  5. Immigration

    Posted by Shawna, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard Costa handled my families immigration , he was very responsive and understanding with us, both he and his office guided us through the process with a happy ending .

  6. Accessible and knowledgeable attorney

    Posted by SB, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 3-5 lawyers.

    I have come across Mr. Costa's skill and expertise 15 years ago when I came to the US as a graduate student at Tufts University. We did not work directly together at that time, but he gave many educational talks at the international center. I remember how graciously he dispelled many of my fears with his systematic approach to the information he was presenting and how approachable he was, despite his experience and status.

    Years later, I emailed him about a naturalization question, as his name popped up in the list of attorneys I was given by an immigration officer. Not only did he respond to my emails (initial and subsequent) within hours, but he offered help by taking the process a step further. With his help, my question was answered in 24hrs - all without any charge! He remained exactly as I remembered him - knowledgeable, accessible, and generous. I am so glad that he was the first attorney I contacted! Should I or my friends need immigration advice, he will surely be the first one to call/email!

  7. Knowledgeable attorney

    Posted by a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I had talked to a lawyer at Harvard Legal Care about obtaining a green card and he didn't give me the clear options that Mr. Costa gave me. I was wondering what chances I stand to obtain a green card through Extraordinary ability and Mr. Costa recommended the National Interest Waiver. He told me I don't stand a big chance at this point, so I am going to look for jobs internationally. Thank you, Mr. Costa, for clarifying my situation (I also appreciated the 10 min. of clear, free advice you gave me).

  8. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by Kasia, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.
    • I hired Richard 1-3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I would highly recommend Richard Costa to anyone who needs advice on immigration laws. Thanks to his knowledge and expertise in the immigration law field I had gotten my immigrant visa without any problems. I will definitely contact Costa & Riccio Law Firm again in five years as I will become eligible for Citizenship. If you are looking for experienced, honest and kind immigration attorney who cares don’t look any further and contact Richard Costa and his team!

  9. The buck stops here!

    Posted by Flavia, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Richard Costa was highly recommended by someone I know, and likewise will now continue to be recommended by me.
    Before hiring Costa & Riccio Law, I had hired another firm (through a list of attorneys provided by my country’s consulate) to take care of my immigration residency petition after marrying a US resident. My petition was stuck for six years, while the aforementioned lawyer received full payment, but did absolutely nothing about my case.
    When I met with Richard (mid-2011) he was very straightforward from the get-go, and most importantly, he didn’t sugarcoat the intricacies that made my case challenging: my petition was jurassically old, and to boot, I was separated from my then estranged husband, who was my sponsor.
    Richard skillfully assessed the pros and cons while cogitating possible outcomes, and he listened to my concerns open-mindedly; even in times when I considered going against his recommendation. He is knowledgeable, accessible, quick-witted, and very personable.
    I also had a chance to work with Ellen Davey-Fleming and Kate Schlegel, who are equally proficient, sophisticated, and affable.
    My petition was approved on the spot immediately after my interview, and I got a ten-year greencard when most people are granted a two-year one.
    Five years from now Costa & Riccio Law will be hearing from me again, as I’ll finally be eligible for citizenship.

  10. Exceptional Attorney

    Posted by Vinod, a Immigration client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend Richard Costa.
    • I hired Richard more than 3 years ago.
    • Richard handled my Immigration matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    I did my green card application through Richard Costa. He has extensive experience and in-depth knowledge about the immigration laws. He is very supportive, trustworthy and I always felt 100% confident that he would take care of my application and he did. He has a great team and all of them were wonderful, friendly and always available when I had questions. They did a very neat and thorough job and handled my case in a professional and extremely efficient way. I sincerely thank them for their expert guidance in my green card application process. I had a great experience working with them and I highly recommend them to everyone.