James M. Milligan Jr.’s Reviews

James M. Milligan Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 73 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Do not use this attorney for any DWI cases.

    Posted by Gary,
    Overall rating
     Poor
    Trustworthy
     Poor
    Responsive
     Fair
    Knowledgeable
     Average
    Kept me informed
     Fair
    • I do not recommend James Milligan.

    Do not use this attorney for any DWI cases. He is afraid of trials.

    In July 2011 I found myself in the unfortunate position of being arrested for OUI in Massachusetts, an embarrassing and difficult position especially for someone who does not live in the state. Not knowing who to call to represent in the said case I interviewed a bunch of attorneys.

    I called Mr. James Milligan or Jay, he likes to be called and I selected him based on the fact that he didn't talk down to me like a lot of lawyers like to do.

    Anyway, my situation was a little complicated because the arresting police officer was FIRED for punching out his family member or so that what Jay told me. I also did not take a breathalyzer test during the arrest which makes it even harder for a conviction in a DWI arrest. There was no property damage that was sustained and no one was injured during the arrest. I was given a field test and passed all of the tests which is why they wanted to give me a breathalyzer.

    Jay told me that if he had to go to trial he would charge me $5500.00. If he didn't go to a jury trial it would be half that amount.

    Fast forward to the prosecution of the case. I was nervous like any one would be during this difficult time. The second time after the arraignment, I showed up to court the arresting police officer wasn't in the court room. This should of caused a dismissal of the case straight away. Jay mildly pushed for this in the court room but was seemingly afraid of the judge or the prosecuting attorney.

    The next time I appeared in the court room the arresting police officer, who was FIRED from the police force, conveniently showed up to court room.

    Anyway, Jay wanted me to take a D.W.A.I plea bargain but I said no way. I wanted a jury trial or a bench trial because the arresting officer lost a lot of credibility due the said firing from the police dept.

    The wind up is Jay "put his foot down" and told me to take a reckless driving plea which still has a misdemeanor on my record. We never went to trial but Jay still charged me $5500. A lot of money for showing up to 3 court appearances, I think.

    Thanks for reading this and good luck with your case.

    1. James M. Milligan Jr.

      James Milligan

      Lawyer Comment:

      DEAR POTENTIAL CLIENT - PLEASE DISREGARD THIS REVIEW AS IT IS NOT REFLECTIVE OF MY SERVICES.

      First, I am a trial lawyer and have tried over 200 OUI cases in the last 3 years. This client hired me on or about October 24, 2011. This client was charged with an Operating under the Influence of Alcohol (OUI), Child Endangerment and Negligent Operation of a motor vehicle. I treated this client with respect and explained to the client in detail the seriousness of the offenses with which the client was charged, particularly the Child Endangerment offense which carried the potential (although not likely) for a jail sentence and a license suspension of 1 year in Massachusetts. This suspension would have likely impacted the client’s ability to drive in their home state as well. As I do with all clients, I set forth two separate fees, A fee for a plea to the offense without the need for a trial date and a trial fee. I quoted this client a reasonable fee for the services that were rendered given the seriousness of the offense.

      The facts of the case were far more serious than the client has made them out to be and the report is part of the public record at the courthouse. I reported to the court on the pre-trial conference date and a trial date was set. The government was not ready on the first trial date and I moved to dismiss the case. As a general rule, cases are not dismissed on the first trial date if the government is not ready. A judge will commonly give the government another date and my only role is to object to the continuance and make my position known. This was done for this client.

      Prior to the second trial date, the government informed me that the officer was involved in an altercation while off-duty and as a result was no longer working for the police department. I believe the officer resigned as opposed to being fired. In any event, the officer was summonsed and appeared at the trial date. I was ready for trial but based upon discussions with the government prior to the trial, there was an offer to DISMISS the OUI and the Child Endangerment in exchange for a plea or admission to sufficient facts, commonly referred to as a CWOF to the remaining charge of Negligent operation of a motor vehicle, NOT A RECKLESS DRIVING as alleged by the client. As far as I was concerned this was a superb offer for the client given the facts of the case and one that I strongly recommended that he accept. The client was advised of all the consequences and chose to accept the plea negotiation. Since the client received a CWOF, there was only administrative probation and had to complete a National Drivers Safety class with NO LICENSE LOSS at all. The client references that I wanted him to take a DWAI plea and that is simply not true. First, in Mass there is no such thing as a DWAI and Second the OUI was DISMISSED along with the most severe offense of them all the CHILD ENDANGERMENT. If these matters were not Dismissed we wold have gone to trial.

      I have no idea why this client has chosen some two years after the fact to write a review that is factually inaccurate and fabricated after receiving a favorable outcome.

      Posted 2 days ago. Flag

  2. Exceptional law firm

    Posted by Jim,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.

    Attorney Milligan was able to get my life back on track in under 2 months.I was in a car accident and arrested charged with OUI and driving to endanger in September 2014. I thought this can't be happening, I'm going to be with out my license for at least 6 months. Jay was able to get me a court date, not guilty judgement,and license reinstatement in less than 2 months.
    I am very pleased!

  3. Consummate Professional

    Posted by Andrew,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.

    To Whom it may concern,

       In April 2014 I found myself in the unfortunate position of being arrested for OUI in Massachusetts, clearly an unnerving position. Several colleagues and friends of mine have had more experience with the
    law than I have so I turned to them for advice on hiring council.  The name James Milligan arose more than once, so I did some research and realize today it was a life changing phone call to him that I made that day. 

     Yesterday a judge announced, "Not guilty."


        When you begin your case you'll spend more time with Mr. Higgins but when the expertise of Jay is required, he'll be right by your side.  In my personal opinion, he absolutely steam rolled the prosecutor, almost embarrassingly so.  It's a difficult and expensive lesson to learn but well worth my money. 

    Thank you, James Milligan, for getting me my life back.

    Sincerely,

    Andrew C,

    Halifax, MA

  4. Just Excellent Legal Service

    Posted by a client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.

    I had an incident which I thought I could fight. Jay was recommended to me with high regards, through another lawyer from New Hampshire.
    He assessed my situation and told me we had a very good chance to fight and win the case.
    After several continuations implemented by the DA, due to absent officer witnesses, we finally had my trial.
    Jay suggested the best course of action was a trial without a jury.
    The DA presented 3 officer witnesses and 5 pieces of evidence.
    Jay was able to determine the results from my breathalizer as non-admissable using proof from another case file.
    When questioning the arresting officer, Jay persuaded him to admit that my performances in the field sobriety tests were not as harsh as initially described in his police report. Through Jay's line of questioning, the officer also admitted to not clarifying his direction throughout these tests as specifically as he could have.
    The other two officers were proven useless for the DA. One admitted to not being able to fully judge my level of intoxication. The other was questioned to prove the functionality of the breathalyzer, this person’s testimony proved worthless as well.
    The style of which the Jay decided to approach the case was incredibly sensible and proved itself successful.

  5. BEST DUI/DWI Lawyer period!

    Posted by Ryan, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Jay was awesome...calm, cool, and collected! I chose Jay based on these reviews and he came as advertised....EXCELLENT!!! Jay knew exactly what game to play within our court system and worked it beautifully...If you have a DUI case Jay is the first call you should or need to make. THE BEST!!

  6. Relieved Mom

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Atty. Milligan was an absolute blessing. He helped us through a very long and drawn out legal process for my child's DUI charges and talked to us as well as to his official client. When the case finally came to trial after two years and the sixth time in court, his advice and his representation won the day. We will always be grateful.

  7. Review of Jay Milligan

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Over two years ago, Jay Millligan took on my case. It was an OUI Roadblock case, and Jay explored every avenue possible before going to trial. While those did not come to fruition, he was professional throughout and was impressed with his knowledge.

    About 23 months after the incident, I finally went to trial (this was my 2nd OUI, so it was important to fight it) Jay advised me throughout and kept me calm. He was always one step ahead of the DA and we achieved a most favorable outcome. I am now driving with no additional record. While it was not easy, and I probably spent 14 days in the court house, I am happy with the outcome and Jay's work.

  8. Best of the best

    Posted by rthom45305, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In January, I was charged with an OUI after being
    Out with my boss and co-workers and lost control
    And totaled my car when trying to avoid a collision
    With an oncoming vehicle. No other vehicles were
    Involved but I sustained injuries. I have 2 other OUIs.
    One was 24 and one was 18 years ago in other states.
    Mr. Milligan and Mr. Higgins were able to negotiate a very
    Very favorable outcome and get charges reduced substantially.
    They responded to all my questions ANGST and represented
    Me in court in the best way possible. They are both very professional,
    Very thorough and know the law. I would recommend them
    To anyone needing a DUI/OUI attorney.

  9. Trust in Jay

    Posted by Marc, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Witnessing James Milligan defend my case was something I'll never forget. There is now a plea sent story to tell about my OUI case because of him and I will never be able to thank him enough .

  10. Extremely Impressive Performance by Jay Milligan... Do No Second Guess Deciding on Him

    Posted by Adam, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have only positive things to say about the Law Offices of James Milligan. I was arrested and charged with DUI, I was very upset and worried about the whole situation. Jay Milligan was recommended to me as "the top attorney" in this area so I immediately contacted him. His associate met with me within a day or two after the incident and was extremely professional, calm and knowledgeable. I immediately knew I was in good hands.

    Throughout the process, Jay was always responsive whenever I called or emailed. I even called him the night before my trial in the evening because of a concern I had and he not only picked up my call, but greeted me by name.

    When my trial date came, he was right by my side. He told me what was going to happen and what to do. Jay is a competent and professional attorney who helped me through a difficult time. He is an excellent example of professionalism and a master of his craft. The outcome of my situation was the best possible scenario imaginable due to Jay's immense knowledge of the law, and how to use the system to assist his clients. I would without a doubt 100% recommend Jay to anyone in need of his services.

617-851-7155