James M. Milligan Jr.’s Reviews

James M. Milligan Jr.

Average Rating

Based on 68 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Relieved Mom

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Atty. Milligan was an absolute blessing. He helped us through a very long and drawn out legal process for my child's DUI charges and talked to us as well as to his official client. When the case finally came to trial after two years and the sixth time in court, his advice and his representation won the day. We will always be grateful.

  2. Review of Jay Milligan

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Over two years ago, Jay Millligan took on my case. It was an OUI Roadblock case, and Jay explored every avenue possible before going to trial. While those did not come to fruition, he was professional throughout and was impressed with his knowledge.

    About 23 months after the incident, I finally went to trial (this was my 2nd OUI, so it was important to fight it) Jay advised me throughout and kept me calm. He was always one step ahead of the DA and we achieved a most favorable outcome. I am now driving with no additional record. While it was not easy, and I probably spent 14 days in the court house, I am happy with the outcome and Jay's work.

  3. Best of the best

    Posted by rthom45305, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    In January, I was charged with an OUI after being
    Out with my boss and co-workers and lost control
    And totaled my car when trying to avoid a collision
    With an oncoming vehicle. No other vehicles were
    Involved but I sustained injuries. I have 2 other OUIs.
    One was 24 and one was 18 years ago in other states.
    Mr. Milligan and Mr. Higgins were able to negotiate a very
    Very favorable outcome and get charges reduced substantially.
    They responded to all my questions ANGST and represented
    Me in court in the best way possible. They are both very professional,
    Very thorough and know the law. I would recommend them
    To anyone needing a DUI/OUI attorney.

  4. Trust in Jay

    Posted by Marc, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Good
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    Witnessing James Milligan defend my case was something I'll never forget. There is now a plea sent story to tell about my OUI case because of him and I will never be able to thank him enough .

  5. Extremely Impressive Performance by Jay Milligan... Do No Second Guess Deciding on Him

    Posted by Adam, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-6 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I have only positive things to say about the Law Offices of James Milligan. I was arrested and charged with DUI, I was very upset and worried about the whole situation. Jay Milligan was recommended to me as "the top attorney" in this area so I immediately contacted him. His associate met with me within a day or two after the incident and was extremely professional, calm and knowledgeable. I immediately knew I was in good hands.

    Throughout the process, Jay was always responsive whenever I called or emailed. I even called him the night before my trial in the evening because of a concern I had and he not only picked up my call, but greeted me by name.

    When my trial date came, he was right by my side. He told me what was going to happen and what to do. Jay is a competent and professional attorney who helped me through a difficult time. He is an excellent example of professionalism and a master of his craft. The outcome of my situation was the best possible scenario imaginable due to Jay's immense knowledge of the law, and how to use the system to assist his clients. I would without a doubt 100% recommend Jay to anyone in need of his services.

  6. James Milligan is Outstanding. You would be lucky to get his advice!

    Posted by Mike, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I have just finished reviewing all of the written documentation on my DUI arrest. James listened very carefully about my physical issues and details of how the police handled the case and my arrest. Like many of you, I've never been in "trouble" with the law and being identified and treated, as a criminal was a very unsettling. The first lawyer I hired discouraged my desire to appeal at the RMV. He said, "Nobody ever wins there." That may be true, but I wanted a legal advisor to give me every chance and opportunity to plead my case and obtain a favorable outcome. I fired him. James and I researched the law, discussed strategies and went to court with a well thought out plan. I felt I was treated unfairly on many levels by the state but Mr. Milligan was able to focus on issues that would result in a positive outcome regarding my trial.

    The important stuff:
    1. He is readily available. He returns calls ASAP.
    2. His office staff is caring, competent and understands and knows how to deal with our frustration.
    3. He has some serious courtroom credibility. He identifies and amplifies testimony that helps his client.
    4. He has a great understanding of the courtroom process. He is well versed in the intricacies of choosing a jury or a judge for your trial. This choice is influenced by factors that occur right up to the last second.
    5. He knows and is respected by the court personnel, officers, judges, secretaries and many of those employed in the justice system.
    6. He possesses a demeanor, personality and mindset that are aware and respectful of the law and the people involved.
    7. He understands truth, compassion, and fairness and will do his best to help you get the best outcome possible.
    8. Well after the trial was over, his office responded to my requests for information.

    My son, who is a reporter, accompanied me to my pre trial and trial. He has had the opportunity to view and hear many court cases. He said, “Dad, you picked a great lawyer. He is smart, asks great questions and seems to be personally invested in providing you with a good outcome.” As I sat and watched the proceedings while waiting in the courtroom for my trial to begin, I became aware that Jay Milligan possesses a burning desire to do his best for the clients he represents.

    Jay understands how difficult it is to deal with getting a DUI. Depending on the facts, and your circumstances, I’m sure Jay can offer you the best advice to mitigate possible monetary or freedom penalties. Attorneys with his skills in the Boston area, demand a much higher fee for services.

  7. Professional Service with favorable outcomes.

    Posted by CA, a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    I contacted the office on a sunday morning and within a few hours Jay had gotten back to me and was able to talk over and take on my case. Through a tough and stressful time, Jay, Joe and Karen helped us with our matter whenever we called or needed to know we were being taken care of. Their professional attitude and skilled knowledge got us a favorable result that was above our expectations. I would use them again or highly recommend them if ever needed, Thanks again.

  8. Phenomenal Attorney

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Words cannot express how thankful I am for Attorney James Milligan. I contacted Attorney Milligan after my license was suspended for a first time OUI offense. My only hope of being able to get to work and continue supporting myself financially was to have my driver's license reinstated. He was extremely knowledgeable throughout the entire process and guided me through each step of the way. I had a meeting at the RMV just a few days after our initial phone conversation. I left the RMV that day with a restricted license that has allowed me to keep my job and get my life back. I highly recommend Attorney Milligan to anyone who needs legal help. I will be forever grateful for him.

  9. 2nd OUI Charge Dropped

    Posted by JR, a Appeals client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 1-3 years ago.
    • James handled my Appeals matter.

    I would like to first extend my gratitude and appreciation again to Attorney Jay Milligan. Attorney Milligan represented me in a 2nd OUI and Negligent operation of a motor vehicle charge. Naturally, I was extremely concerned with the charges and the potential outcome. Attorney Milligan created a game plan that would most likely lead to a trial. As the trial begun Attorney Milligan coached me through the entire ordeal and let me know his honest opinion on the likelihood of our victory. As a
    result of his years of experience in this legal subject matter and his time spent in the courtroom. He was able to convince the jury that there was not enough evidence to convict on an OUI charge. The just deliberated and I was found not guilt on a 2nd OUI charge.

    I would recommend Attorney Milligan to anyone facing the same charges.

    Thank you Attorney Jay Milligan.

  10. Real Deal

    Posted by a DUI client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend James Milligan.
    • I hired James 6-12 months ago.
    • James handled my DUI / DWI matter.

    Jay was always available for consultation. He knows the law, the procedures, the court system and the people in the judicial to negotiate when the time comes. If you find yourself in trouble with the law and it is alcohol related you better hire the top defense lawyer that will look after you. Jay is the best and I am glad I chose him for my council after interviewing 2 other attorneys.

617-851-7155