John E DeVito’s Reviews

John E DeVito

Average Rating

Based on 22 reviews

Help make it easier for other Avvo users to choose the right lawyer by sharing your experience with this attorney. It's fast, simple, and safe.

Review this lawyer

Lawyers: Use the Peer Endorsements section to provide input about other attorneys.


  1. Best Criminal Defense Lawyer

    Posted by a Domestic Violence client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Domestic Violence matter.

    He was responsive, listen to our case. He was able to appear on clients behalf while incarcerated in NH and have our best interest to resolve our case. He completed research and John's Devito's team is friendly and take pride in being professional.

    Thank you again,

  2. Awesome Attorney!!!!! I highly recommend him...

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John 1-6 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I hired him to handle a 4 year old warrant I had for a provation violation stemming from a negligent operation of a motor vehicle and leaving the scene of property damage. Long story short he did exactly what he said he would. The warrant was in ma and i live in fl he handled everything for me i never even had to step into a court room. I never left fl. I paid him and the next business day everything was handled case dismissed. I would hire him again!!!!

  3. Driver's License Suspension Removed Successfully

    Posted by Bryan, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    I tried unsuccessfully for over three years to get a driver's license in Indiana and was repeatedly told I could not get it after passing all the required tests, because of a 10 year old Warrant in Boston, MA. I tried calling everyone I could in the RMV and the Boston Court (actually Roxbury Court), and no one would tell me what I needed to do to get the suspension removed.
    John was able to get get the charges dismissed and the warrant removed, and I am now able to get my license.
    He was very helpful and his rates were very reasonable compared to others I had contacted.

  4. Experienced and Knowledgable in Criminal Law

    Posted by Dave, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.

    Mr. DeVito’s experience and contacts in the local legal arena were a great help to us through a difficult auto accident case. He extensively researched every option to bring the case to an acceptable close for all parties involved. Throughout the case we were kept updated and our questions were always answered promptly. Despite the circumstances, it was a pleasure working with Mr. DeVito and his staff.

  5. Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles

    Posted by Bill, a State & Local Law client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John 6-12 months ago.
    • John handled my State, Local And Municipal Law matter.

    Prompt, detailed, and effective service. Prompt response to phone calls. Resolved issues with the Commonwealth of Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles relating to license suspension and extenuating circumstances--a three decade old issue suddenly coming to light.

  6. Proficient and professional

    Posted by J, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    We hired Attorney DeVito to represent my brother after he was charged with multiple criminal charges; 2 counts of A&B, kidnapping, and illegal possession of a firearm. Attorney DeVito, from day one, worked proactively with my family to get my brother's charges dropped and the case dismissed. He met with us many times over the six month court process, explaining everything along the way, and showed both patience and professionalism throughout. He was confidant and assuring during a very hard time for a family naive about the court system. I recommend his services to anyone looking for legal counsel.

  7. GREAT LAWYER!

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 1-2 lawyers.

    I contacted Atty DeVito for an assault and battery charge against my son. My son was in his 4th yr of college as a criminal justice major. With so much at stake , I was extremely concerned about my sons future. Atty DeVito guided us along the whole process. He was always professional, knowledgeable and very honest w/ us. Atty DeVito was able to avoid having my son arraigned on these charges as long as my son adheres to a few conditions imposed by the court. Atty DeVito has given my son a chance to pursue his dream of law enforcement. Thank you Atty John DeVito!!

  8. Unbelievable.

    Posted by Joele, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with more than 10 lawyers.

    This is all about Professionalism. My husband had a very serious legal situation regarding child support. John was Unbelievable. All about facts, honesty and stood by our sides with integrity. Our case should not have gone this smoothly. John stays one step ahead of the opposition, and therefore he literally beat them. The communication is constant, and calls (moves) happen immediately. John is Amazing. Period. If he represents you, for sure you have the Best there is. Having confidence in your Attorney during horrible times is priceless. We know.....he turned a no-win case into a win.

  9. Truly saved my life

    Posted by a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John 1-3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with no lawyers.

    Before I met John DeVito I was in the middle of a precarious situation with the law and struggling to cope with moderate to severe depression. My actions were the result of poor judgement combined with several years of neglect and lack of proper guidance. I was heading down a path that would have ended in self destruction before the intervention of law enforcement and then the assistance of John DeVito. John saw to it that I got the help I needed and the chance to redeem myself and to become a better person. Your past does not define your future and John truly cares about his clients in more than just terms of business, he cares about them as people. I can not thank John enough for helping me clear up issues with law enforcement and to level the playing field with this situation. I owe the second chance that I have been given to John and I highly recommend his services to anyone who may need them!

  10. Mis-guided prosecutorial approach from local police and DA

    Posted by RS, a Criminal Defense client,
    Overall rating
     Excellent
    Trustworthy
     Excellent
    Responsive
     Excellent
    Knowledgeable
     Excellent
    Kept me informed
     Excellent
    • I recommend John DeVito.
    • I hired John more than 3 years ago.
    • John handled my Criminal Defense matter.
    • I have previously worked with 6-10 lawyers.

    John's quiet and consistent, yet tenacious, manner is a plus during conferencing and strategy planning.
    He is clear and precise when explaining "the law" involved and its contradictions to his client's own circumstances.
    The client is quickly assured by his demeanor and court room style that he has only one intention; to represent you with arguments and approach that can best address the circumstances and charges. A big plus is that jurors cannot help but like him.

We're ready to help. Contact us today.

781-326-1818