The most common personal injury accidents are the result of traffic accidents. These include accidents involving cars, motorcycles, bikes, and more.
Insurance companies hold a great deal of power during the claims process – you cannot control the manner in which they control their finances or approach your claim, and the company holds far greater negotiating power. As such, the law assumes that your relationship exists according to good faith that your company will treat you fairly. Unfortunately, some insurance companies act in a manner that abuses good faith. Bad faith insurance elements differ from state to state. However, every state holds that insurance companies have a legal duty to act in good faith and treat clients fairly when handling their claims. Such fairness is the primary element Washington highlights when defining bad faith insurance practices. State laws require all insurance companies to continue to preserve the meaning behind and integrity of insurance policies. Primarily, the law means that insurance companies must not deceive the insured, and must be honest and equitable in all decisions. Ultimately, companies must also adhere to what we call the equal consideration rule – insurance companies must not put their own interests ahead of the insured; instead, insurance companies must treat the insured as equals.
What is and isn’t allowed under the Georgia Hands Free Law The Georgia Hands Free Law does NOT completely prohibit the use of mobile devices by the driver. Drivers can use GPS systems to follow mapping directions. They can also use a phone if it is either connected to their car or is through a digital watch – provided they are either using a/n wireless headset or earpiece, or that they have turned on their speakerphone. While a driver is able to use an earpiece or headphones to interact on a phone call, they cannot be used for any other purposes, such as for music. The person cannot listen to music via headphones and cannot interact at all with a music streaming app when they are driving; however, they can listen to music through an app if they set it up to play when they are parked. The only way a person can interact with a music streaming app while driving is if they are using the car’s radio to control it. Although drivers are not allowed to text-message via typing, they can do so via voice activation. A person cannot typically record video while driving, but they are able to use dashcams that are on throughout the drive. Georgia distracted driving law penalties Those convicted of breaking the rules of the Georgia Hands Free Law are subject to rather minor penalties: - First conviction: $50 fine and 1 point on their driver’s license; - Second conviction (within 24 months of first conviction): $100 and 2 points on their driver’s license; and - Third conviction (within 24 months of first conviction): $150 and 3 points on their license. In fact, first-time offenders have the option to buy a device that allows them to use hands-free technology for phone calls. When they present documentation to the court showing they have taken this safety measure, the state will drop the charges. Regardless how “soft” these penalties are, the driver can be held liable for damages if they get in a car crash with you.
Is the Driver in Back Always to Blame? In some states, investigators always assign rear end collision fault to the person who hit the other driver. New Hampshire is not one of those states. Admittedly, rear end collisions do often result from the following driver not being alert, but that*s not always the case * and New Hampshire law recognizes that reality. Rear end accidents can also be caused by the leading driver pulling out unexpectedly into traffic, braking suddenly, changing lanes without using signals, driving without taillights at night, or by road conditions that combine to cause the leading driver to lose traction on a slick road, while the following driver skids into them. Can You Recover Damages in a Rear End Collision? Whether you were the person who did the rear ending or the person struck, you may be able to get compensation for your damages in a rear end collision. The accident investigators will apportion the blame for the accident between the drivers. If you*re 51% or less to blame, you can make a claim for damages against the other person*s insurance. If you were rear ended, it*s easier to make a case. You do have to produce evidence that you were exercising due care when the accident occurred, while the other person was not. The court will ask for documentation to prove the other driver*s liability, including: a police report, notes and photos from the scene, photos of the auto damage, witness statements, medical bills, and the like. If you rear ended someone else, you may be able to prove that one of the circumstances mentioned in the previous section caused you to strike the other vehicle. However, the real determinant will be what the accident scene investigators decided. If they assign more than 51% of the blame to you, you won*t have a case. What Happens If You Decide to Make a Claim Against the Other Driver? If you decide to sue for damages, we strongly recommend that you hire an experienced Manchester NH injury lawyer to represent you in court. As part of their due diligence, they*ll advise you on the types of damages to consider while making your case. You can expect vehicle damage from a rear end collision, and it may be significant. This is the most obvious type of damage to consider, along with any injuries. Don*t forget to take photos of both your auto damage or personal injuries to you or your passengers for use in court. When you make the claim, remember also to take lost wages into account, and any potential long-term harm. If you end up with a hurt neck or back, it may result in years of pain. Include those potential costs in your medical expenses, as a step toward making you legally whole. This is especially true if the injury will likely impact your ability to earn future income. You can also request compensation for pain and suffering, mental anguish, and even punitive damages, though the latter are rarely awarded. Needless to say, you*ll need the documentation to back up any and all claims. To Learn More About How to Determine Rear End Collision Fault At the Law Office of Manning & Zimmerman PLLC, we pride ourselves on our experience, customer service, and professionalism. If you have questions about a rear end collision accident you*ve been involved in, contact us for a free consultation.
This video has a wealth of advice about what you should do after a car accident, including when you should call a Traffic Accident Attorney. I think it never really hurts to call, especially if the traffic accident attorney offers a free consultation. You might find out that you were about to do something really stupid! This firm is not going to make you wear a neck brace and stay out of work. This is a serious reputable firm that's been helping people for generations. You'll get straight talk and helpful advice.
Move your vehicle out of the roadway if you are able to do so safely. Understanding that the crash has likely occurred on a street, road, highway or area with other vehicles on it and which could cause an additional crash, you should move your vehicle to the side of the road if you are able to do safely and without causing harm to others. Once moved to the side of the road, turn on your hazard lights so that other vehicles can more easily see your vehicle. Check for injuries and call the police. Check yourself and anyone else involved for injuries and call 911. Remember that not all injuries may be obvious. For example, signs of dizziness may indicate a head injury. If you suspect an injury, make sure to let the dispatch operator know so that they can dispatch medical personnel to the accident scene. Document the scene. If you are able to do so safely, document the scene by taking photographs of the damage to the vehicles, any marking or debris in the roadway and any injuries you may have sustained. Also obtain the names and contact information of any witnesses to the crash as well as the responding officers. Save this information in safe place that you can access later. Seek immediate medical attention. If you have been injured as the result of a car crash, you should seek immediate medical attention. The failure to do so could jeopardize important insurance benefits. While most people think about going to a hospital first, there is no requirement that you do so and there are many other medical providers outside of the hospital system which provide excellent care. Report the crash to your insurance company. Most insurance policies require people involved in a crash to report the crash to their insurance company. Failure to do so can jeopardize important insurance benefits. Contact an injury attorney. If you have been involved in a crash, you are about to be inundated with calls and requests. You have rights. Failing to consult with an attorney before you speak with insurance companies other than the initial crash reporting can harm your case and be unnecessary. Don*t be taken advantage of. Do not sign anything prior to speaking with an attorney. It is not uncommon for an insurance company to bring a small check to a car accident victim*s house and ask them to sign a release. Signing a release may cause you to give up valuable rights and forever release the at-fault driver from any further liability. Sometimes insurance companies ask car accident victims to sign other documents. Do not sign any documents from the insurance company before consulting with an attorney. Not only does this practice prey on car accident victims* lack of knowledge of the law and legal value of their case, it is more evidence that injury victims need an attorney involving looking out for them.
The road is not a playground Children love to play and you don't necessarily have to keep them cooped up in the house or your backyard. To help them develop healthy social skills, they need to mingle with other kids, too. But make sure they know that the road is a dangerous place to be in. Inform them that the road is off-limits and that they can play in designated play areas within your community instead. A safe choice would be the park or any fenced area where vehicles cannot enter. Make use of sidewalks and pedestrian crosswalks Help them understand that sidewalks are a safe place for your children to walk in while cars use roads to get from one place to another. Pedestrian lanes also provide a safe way for them to cross the streets. Make sure to let them know when and when not to cross the streets, too. In cases where sidewalks aren't available, tell your child to face oncoming traffic so they see if cars are coming at their direction. Stay Alert Whether your kids are near the road during the day or during night time, make sure they always stay alert. Complacency can make them more prone to pedestrian or road accidents. Make your kids aware that it's not ideal to have headphones on or earbuds on both ears while using the sidewalk or crosswalk.
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.