Florida Workers' Compensation - A Few More Tips
A Few More Tips regarding your Workers' Compensation Case
Make sure you timely file a report of injury. You typically have only 30 days to report the accident. However, your employer may have internal rules requiring the immediate reporting of an accident. But under the law in Florida, you have a minimum of 30 days to report the accident. You have longer in certain situations.
What to do if your employer refuses to report the injury to their workers' compensation insurance company. Contact the Ombudsman at the Division of Workers' Compensation and/or contact a qualified workers' compensation attorney who may be able to file a Petition for Benefits with the Judge of Compensation Claims.
There is a waiting period before workers' comp has to begin paying you money benefits. In order to get paid for the first 7 days of disability that has resulted in a loss of income, you have to prove you are disabled for a minimum of 21 days. After the 21 days, then workers' compensation will go back and pay you for the first seven days.