Why did they take my license when I was arrested for DUI/DWI and how and when do I get it back?
In North Carolina, if you are arrested on suspicion of DWI and you blew over the legal limit or willfully refused to provide a breath sample, North Carolina law requires an automatic suspension of your North Carolina driving privileges for a 30 day period. The officer takes your license and at the end of the 30 days, you pay a fine and get your driver’s license back. If you are licensed in another state, your driving privileges in North Carolina are still revoked for the 30 days. Most likely, your actual license and driving privileges in your original state will remain valid. When the officer charges you with the offense, he is not technically supposed to physically take your out of state license, but they often do in fact take it for the 30 days, just like a North Carolina license. If you are actually licensed by North Carolina at the time of the DWI offense, then your actual license and full driving privileges are revoked, meaning you cant legally drive in ANY state for this 30 day period.