Skip to main content

Which states recognize common-law marriage?

Posted by attorney Mary Brown

Alabama Colorado Georgia (if created before 1/1/97) Idaho (if created before 1/1/96) Iowa Kansas Montana New Hampshire (for inheritance purposes only) Ohio (if created before 10/10/91) Oklahoma (possibly only if created before 11/1/98. Oklahoma's laws and court decisions may be in conflict about whether common law marriages formed in that state after 11/1/98 will be recognized.) Pennsylvania (if created before 1/1/05) Rhode Island South Carolina Texas Utah Washington, D.C.

Author of this guide:

Was this guide helpful?

Filed under: Inheritance rights