What Questions Should You Ask Your Car Accident Attorney?
After a car accident, you may be wondering what to do next. When you’re in the recovery process, you may have many questions about how to deal with your insurance company, how to get your car repaired, and how to recover from your injuries. If you sustained serious injuries, you may be wondering how
Do I Have an Actionable Case?Most car accident lawyers are often hesitant to provide a conclusive legal opinion on a case after an initial consultation. Your lawyer’s opinion on liability and damages recoverable on your case is subject to change once your case is investigated and the extent of your injuries are documented. Regardless of the type of injury at issue, to get a clearer picture of the strengths and potential weaknesses of your case, your attorney must first look at the accident scene, review any pertinent documents, and find out what the other involved parties have to say.
How Does Liability Work When an Injury is Aggravated by a Subsequent Car Accident in Florida?When an injury is aggravated by a later car accident, the original tortfeasor may be liable for the entire extent of the damage, if the second accident is a natural result that flowed from the original injury. Accordingly, if the tortfeasor is liable for an injury that impairs another’s physical condition, the tortfeasor is also liable for harm sustained in a subsequent accident that would not have occurred had the injured party not been impaired.
How Long Will It Take to Settle My Injury Claim?The car accident attorneys at Suarez & Montero review the facts and circumstances of your case and persistently check for updates about any new information or evidence that can be used to further assist with your case. We want to build the strongest case for you and secure the settlement that you deserve. Settlement negotiation times can vary depending on the facts and circumstances of your case.
Is the Driver Who Caused the Accident Supposed to Pay My Medical Bills?
Under Florida’s Personal Injury Protection (PIP) statutes, you must have $10,000 in medical and disability benefits and a $5,000 death benefit on your auto policy. If you’re injured in a car accident, you have to submit an insurance claim for your medical bills and expenses as well as any wage loss claims to your own insurance carrier for payment.