What Happens With A Second DUI In California
This guide will explain exactly what happens with a 2nd DUI in California
Consequences of a 2nd DUI in CaliforniaA Second DUI has a mandatory jail time requirement in California. The minimum is 96 hours, the max is 1 year, however, courts such as Orange County, Ventura County, and Riverside County will never merely require the minimum sentence. In Places like Orange County, you could be looking at 60-90 days county jail. In addition to the jail, you are facing a 18 month alcohol school, 3-5 years of probation, either formal or informal, fines up to $3000, up to a 2 year suspension of your driver's license, IID device, MADD panel, HAM program, AA meetings and possibly Scram
Is there anyway out of the mandatory jail for a 2nd DUI in California?There are alternatives to jail for most counties. Such alternatives include house arrest, county work program, city jail, weekend jail, SCRAM. PLEASE BE ADVISED: Not every alternative is available in every jurisdiction. You'll need an attorney who specifically focuses on multiple offense DUI cases to know what you'll be eligible for in the jurisdiction where your case is out of.