What Happens After You Get Arrested for a DWI in Texas
Here is some helpful information should you get arrested for a DWI in Texas. This will include the procedural process and what to expect when you go to court.
DWI in Texas and Your Driving Privileges After ArrestFirst, your Texas driver's license will be confiscated. So, the first legal proceeding that you need to be aware of is the Administrative License Hearing or ALR hearing. This proceeding will determine if your license will be suspended. It is a civil hearing so the burden of proof is much lower than in a criminal proceeding. You have 15 days from the date of arrest to request this hearing. If no action is taken, your license will be automatically suspended in 40 days from the date of arrest. Make sure to contact an attorney be requesting this hearing is vital to saving your license and will also benefit your criminal case.
DWI After ArrestThe stakes are much higher than losing your license once you start going to court. If convicted, you could end up paying a hefty fine, a long probation sentence with treatment and community service hours, and even your freedom. In Texas, here are the full ranges of punishments for DWI:
DWI - 1st Class B: Up to 180 days in the county jail and/or a fine not to exceed $2000
DWI - 2nd Class A: Up to 365 days in the county jail and/or a fine not to exceed $4000
DWI 3rd or More (3rd Degree Felony): 2 to 10 years in prison and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000
These stakes are real and can be life changing, please contact an attorney immediately after an arrest to preserve your rights,