What are the penalties for a first life OVI/DUI charge in Ohio?
This guide highlights some of the mandatory, and optional, sentencing penalties for first OVI convictions in Ohio.
PenaltiesFor anyone charged with an OVI, it can be a terrifying experience. It can be an especially stressful time if you’ve never been to court before. In Ohio, OVI (Operating a Vehicle Impaired) has the same meaning as DUI (Driving Under the Influence).
There are mandatory minimum sentencing penalties outlined in Ohio Revised Code (ORC) 4511.19. The most often asked questions is “will I be going to jail?”. Ohio law requires a mandatory minimum 3 day period of incarceration (maximum of 6 months) for those convicted of OVI. Ohio judges are given the option of sentencing defendants to serve the 3 days in the Driver’s Intervention Program, in lieu of the jail.
Further mandatory minimum sentencing penalties include a minimum fine of $375 (up to a maximum of $1,075) and a minimum license suspension of 1 year (up to a maximum of 3 years). It’s important to remember that these are just the minimum sentencing penalties resulting from an OVI conviction.
Further Sentencing PenaltiesJudges have the ability to place convicted misdemeanants on probation for up to 5 years. Probation can include random toxicology screens, mandatory reporting, drug and alcohol treatment, yellow OVI license plates, etc.