What Are Basic Speed Laws in California
Drivers in California are required to drive at speeds no greater than the recommended and posted speed limits for the safety of all. If there were no traffic laws it would be utter chaos, wouldn’t you agree?
In addition, altering driving speeds for unexpected conditions is required given the potential danger high speeds may cause in these circumstances.
This includes if it’s a rainy day and the roads are slippery – drivers would then be expected to drive at a reduced speed. Other situations include high traffic levels, unpaved road surfaces or driving on roads that are winding and narrow.
Furthermore, if there are passengers or cyclists on the roadways, drivers should exercise caution to avoid possible charges like hit and run or vehicular manslaughter in worst case scenarios.
If the climate is foggy, there’s snow, or wind speeds affect how the vehicle feels, then these situations likewise call for reduced speeds.
The entire log of conditions that call for safer speeds are outlined in ** Vehicle Code 22350**. Penalties for violating this code include:
· Driving at an unsafe speed at 1–15 MPH over speed limits is penalized by $154 in fines.
· Driving at an unsafe speed at 16–25 MPH over speed limits is penalized by $280 in fines.
· ** Driving at an unsafe speed** at more than 25 MPH over speed limits is penalized by $400 in fines.
These fines include state and county penalties, base fines, court fees, surcharges, and the cost of emergency services.
If you’ve been handed an infraction for driving over the speed limit or have failed to observe basic speed rules, the ** traffic defense attorneys** at MacGregor and Collins can help. Call us today at 949-250-6097.