Skip to main content

Ways to lose your license in North Carolina

This list will be regularly updated. The reason I have to update the list is because there is no apparent end to the ways you can be revoked or suspended.

By the way, saying you do not have (or never had) a North Carolina Drivers License does nothing for the defense of Driving While License Revoked or Suspended. All you are saying is that you do not acknowledge your privilege to drive in North Carolina has been revoked. The plastic card means nothing (legally).

  1. Speeding more than 15 mph over the speed limit of 55.
  2. Any speed over 80 mph in any zone.
  3. Going faster than 75 mph in a 65 mph zone.
  4. Any speed above 90 mph.
  5. Getting convicted of 2 or more charges in excess of 55 mph within one year.
  6. One or more convictions of reckless or aggressive driving PLUS one or more convictions of speeding in excess of 55 mph (but not more than 80 mph) within a 12 month period.
  7. Two C&Rs or aggressive driving in 12 months.
  8. One conviction of reckless driving PLUS one conviction of aggressive driving within a 12 month period.
  9. Accumulating 12 or more points within a 3 year period.
  10. Accumulation 8 or more points within the 3 year period following the reinstatement of a license which has been previously suspended.
  11. An out of state conviction which would lead to a suspension in North Carolina.
  12. A conviction of Driving While Impaired or an out of state conviction for DWI/DUI.
  13. A conviction of Driving While License Revoked (DWLR).
  14. A conviction of Driving By Person Under Age 21 After Consuming Alcohol or Drugs.
  15. A conviction for selling or providing alcohol to minors (in certain situations).
  16. A civil revocation for a willful refusal to submit to a chemical analysis.
  17. A civil revocation for a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more.
  18. A civil revocation for a blood alcohol concentration of 0.04 or more involving a commercial motor vehicle.
  19. A civil revocation for ANY alcohol concentration if the person is under 21 years of age.
  20. Failure to Appear (FTA) in court for a traffic citation.
  21. Failure to Pay a Fine on a traffic citation.
  22. Conviction of a moving violation during a period of suspension.
  23. Manslaughter or negligent homicide resulting from the operation of a motor vehicle.
  24. Any felony in the commission of which a motor vehicle is used.
  25. Misdemeanor flee to elude.
  26. Felony flee to elude.
  27. Not paying your child support.
  28. Willfully refusing probation.
  29. Being delcared incompetent by a judge.
  30. Beating up your wife and not hiring an attorney in time to avoid further allegation.

Rate this guide


Recommended articles about Criminal defense

Can’t find what you’re looking for?


Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer