Virginia Reckless Driving: Frequently Asked Questions
This guide answers questions to frequently asked questions about a Virginia Reckless Driving charge.
Is a Virginia Reckless Driving Charge a Crime?Many people are surprised to learn that a Virginia Reckless Driving charge is a crime. It is a Class 1 misdemeanor and is punished with jail, a fine, and driver's license suspension.
Am I Really Facing Jail Time for a Virginia Reckless Driving Conviction?Jail is always a possibility for a Reckless Driving conviction in Virginia. However, the higher the driver's speed, the more likely he is to be punished with jail time if convicted of a Reckless Driving by Speed charge in Virginia. If the charge involves general Reckless Driving, many factors could impact whether the driver will be sentenced to jail, including the severity of any resulting accident.
How High Could the Fine be for a Virginia Reckless Driving Conviction?A Virginia Reckless Driving charge can be punished with a fine up to $2,500, but the fine is usually much lower. The driver will also have to pay court costs if convicted of Reckless Driving in Virginia.
Will My License be Suspended if I am Convicted of Reckless Driving in Virginia?License suspension is a possible penalty for a Virginia Reckless Driving charge. Virginia law allows a driver's license to be suspended for up to 6 months if he is convicted of a Virginia Reckless Driving charge. A driver can apply for a restricted driver's license, which would allow him to go to work, school, and a few other limited places.
Driver's license suspension after a Virginia Reckless Driving conviction is more likely in situations where the driver's behavior was particularly egregious (such as if he caused an accident or was driving at a very high speed) or he has a bad driving record.
Does the DMV Add Points to My Record if I am Convicted of Reckless Driving in Virginia?The DMV will automatically add 6 demerit points to a driver's record if he is convicted of a Virginia Reckless Driving charge.
How Long Will a Virginia Reckless Driving Conviction Remain on My Driving Record?A Virginia Reckless Driving conviction will remain on an offender's Virginia driving record for 11 years.
Will I have a Criminal Record if I am Convicted of a Virginia Reckless Driving Charge?Reckless Driving in Virginia is a crime, and if someone is convicted of a Virginia Reckless Driving charge, he will have a permanent criminal record.
Will my Insurance Increase if I am convicted of a Virginia Reckless Driving Charge?Insurance premiums can go up after a Virginia Reckless Driving conviction. A driver can contact his insurance company before court to find out the ramifications of a Virginia Reckless Driving conviction on his premiums. However, many drivers may not want to let their insurance companies know about their charges before court.
Can I expunge a Virginia Reckless Driving Conviction from my Criminal Record?No. Virginia does not allow expungements of any criminal convictions-even Reckless Driving.
Could I be Sued Civilly If I am Convicted of Reckless Driving in Virginia?If a car accident was the basis for the Reckless Driving charge, the driver could be sued civilly in addition to any criminal penalties for the Reckless Driving charge. Pleading guilty to Reckless Driving-or even a traffic infraction amended down from Reckless Driving-could be used against the driver in a future civil lawsuit based on the same conduct.
Additional resources provided by the author
- Virginia Reckless Driving Charge
- Reckless Driving in Virginia (General)
- Virginia Reckless Driving by Speed
- Class 1 Misdemeanor in Virginia
- What Speed is Considered Reckless Driving in Virginia?
- Expungement in Virginia
- Virginia Reckless Driving Penalties
- Is Reckless Driving a Crime in Virginia?
- Reckless Driving and Driver's License Suspension in Virginia