LEGAL GUIDE
Written by attorney Luke Joseph Nichols | Oct 20, 2010

Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) or (ASAP)

A mandatory condition of any probation for anyone convicted of DUI is that the driver must complete the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP or ASAP). The defendant must register for the ASAP classes within 15 days after sentencing or release from jail. Registering for ASAP is a requirement for probation and for getting a restricted license.

After registration, the driver will have an intake interview and be assigned a case manager who will decide which classes the driver should take. Drivers will be assigned to a 20-hour, 10-week program that meets once a week at the same time every week for two hours per session.

Failure to sign up for or complete ASAP can cause a driver to violate his probation and tos erve suspended jail time (typically 30-90 days). If a driver does not show up to an ASAP class, he or she also risks being sent to jail.

Additional resources provided by the author

For more information about Virginia DUI law go to

Rate this guide


Avvo DUI email series

Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and legal advice about DUIs.

Can’t find what you’re looking for?


Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer