Understanding Wake County and Chatham County Traffic Tickets and Prayer for Judgments/PJCs in NC
A Prayer for Judgment Continued (referred to as PJC) is unique to North Carolina. Only a judge may grant you a PJC, and this outcome is normally reserved for traffic violations, but sometimes can be used for low-level misdemeanors.
How Often Can I Get a PJC in North Carolina?The DMV allows two PJCs every 5 years. If you are granted a third PJC within the 5 year period, the DMV will ignore it, which will result in an increase in your points. North Carolina Insurance policy allows for one PJC every 3 years for insurance point purposes. That includes everyone else on your car insurance policy. If you or anyone else on your policy is granted a second PJC within that 3 year period, your insurance will ignore both PJCs which will result in an increase of your rate. If you plan to use PJC, you need to make sure that nobody on your insurance policy has been granted one in the last three years.
Can I Get My Ticket Reduced?If your traffic ticket is a minor offense that could be reduced to a non-moving violation like an improper equipment, or reduced to a speed that would not increase your insurance, we advise our clients to save their PJC for future use. It is generally worth it to take a driving course, or pay an additional fine rather than use a PJC when it is not necessary. For many clients, a reduction to the non-moving violation of Improper Equipment is the best option.
If you have a speeding or traffic ticket in Wake or Chatham County, please call The Law Offices of Wiley Nickel at (919) 585-1486 to discuss the best options for your specific traffic citation. Our office is located at 2401 Weston Parkway in Cary and we offer free consultations over the phone and in the office.