Understanding Extreme and Super Extreme DUI Charges
In the state of Arizona, there are many different levels in regards to criminal charges of drunk driving. If you are found to be driving under the influence of alcohol and / or drugs with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) over 0.08 percent within two hours of driving, you could be found guilty of a DUI under §28-1381 of the Arizona Statutes. This, however, is more of the baseline than the totality of possible charges.
For example, in Arizona, if you are found to have a BAC over 0.15 percent but below, you will be facing elevated charges. Known as Extreme DUI, this is considered to be a misdemeanor, but it is not without its severity. If convicted, the defendant will face penalties that include a minimum of thirty consecutive days of imprisonment without eligibility for probation, a minimum monetary fine of $250, as well as additional assessment fees. They will also be required to have the ignition interlock device installed on their vehicles for over a year at the time of the defendant’s reinstatement of their license.
If the defendant is found to have a BAC over 0.20 percent, it is then elevated again and is considered to be a Super Extreme DUI. This is similar to an Extreme DUI; however, the penalties will be made even more severe. Jail time will be increased to no less than 45 consecutive days, the fine no less than $500, as well as the additional assessment fees and the mandatory installation of the ignition interlock device.
If you have recently been criminally charged with drunk driving, especially if facing elevated criminal charges, it is extremely important that you do not hesitate to get the involvement of a criminal defense lawyer that you can rely upon to protect your legal rights. This is not the time to work with an inexperienced attorney or to hope for the best. With this much on the line, it is imperative that you get a heavyweight in your corner that you can trust to go above and beyond for you.