Understanding Car Insurance in Nevada
This guide provides a brief summary of liability insurance, underinsured/uninisured motorist coverage, medical payments coverage, rental car coverage, and gap insurance.
Liability InsuranceAt a bare minimum, drivers in Nevada are required to have liability insurance in the amount of $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury and $20,000 for property damage. This means that the maximum amount one person can receive from this policy for injuries is $25,000, and the maximum that everyone injured in the incident can receive is $50,000. For example, if three people are in a car and are all injured by someone with a $25,000/$50,000 policy, the most those three people could recover is $50,000, with none of them being able to collect more than $25,000.
$25,000/$50,000 policies are the minimum bodily injury coverage amounts. Other common policy limits in Nevada are $100,000/$300,000, and $250,000/$500,000, though some drivers carry even higher amounts.
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist CoverageUninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage, commonly called UM/UIM coverage, is extra insurance that you pay for on your insurance policy. This insurance applies if you are in a car crash and the other driver either has no insurance or not enough insurance to cover your injuries. Under state law, insurance companies are not allowed to raise your rates if you make a claim for your UM/UIM coverage.
With the minimum liability policy limits in Nevada only being $25,000/$50,000, it is a good idea to look into adding UM/UIM coverage to your own insurance coverage.