LEGAL GUIDE
Written by attorney John Michael Phillips | May 19, 2012

Types of Crimes in Florida - Drug Possession

Drug Possession Possession of Marijuana (20 grams or less) - Possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana is a First Degree Misdemeanor A 1st degree misdemeanor has a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $1000 fine. Florida Criminal Statute - §893.13(6)(b) Possession of Marijuana (more than 20 grams) - Possession of more than 20 grams of marijuana is a Third Degree Felony. A 3rd degree felony has a maximum penalty of 5 year in jail and a $5000 fine. Florida Criminal Statute - §893.13(6)(a) Possession of a Controlled Substance (Heroin, Cocaine, Ecstasy) - Possession of a Controlled Substance, which could be cocaine, heroin, meth, ecstasy, or other illegal drugs is a 3rd Degree Felony. A Third degree penalty carries a maximum penalty of 5 years in jail and up to a $5000 fine. Florida Criminal Statute - §893.13(6)(a) Possession of More than 10 grams of Heroin - Possession of more than 10 grams of Heroin (and/or most Schedule I drugs and related opiate substances as listed in §893.03(1)(a) or (1)(b) ) is a 1st Degree Felony. A first degree felony has a maximum penalty of 30 years in prison and fines of up to $10,000. Florida Criminal Statute - §893.13(6)(c) Possession of an Unlawful Chemical - Possession of a listed chemical with the intent to unlawfully manufacture a controlled substance is a 2nd Degree Felony. These chemicals may include ingredients to make methamphetamines, ecstasy, GHB, or other drugs. A second degree felony has a maximum penalty of 15 years in jail and a $10,000 fine. Florida Criminal Statute - §893.149 Possession of Drug Paraphernalia - The use, possession, manufacture, delivery or advertisement of drug paraphernalia is a 1st Degree Misdemeanor. Drug paraphernalia as defined under Florida law may include pipes, bongs, other smoking devices, spoons, needles, syringes, scales, measuring or preparation devices, containers, bags, and other items. A first degree misdemeanor has a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $1000 fine. See §893.147, Fla. Stat.

Rate this guide


Can’t find what you’re looking for?


Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer