Travel Reimbursement Rates for Injured Michigan Workers
If you were injured at work and have a claim for workers compensation due to your injuries, you are able to get reimbursed for your travel to see a doctor. Mileage reimbursement is an important benefit under Michigan workers comp law. You should be paid every time you see a doctor or attend an independent medical examination (IME). If you must travel a far distance, you can also get paid for lodging and meals. This is a benefit that you will rarely be told about by an insurance company or employer.
Current reimbursement rates (Effective 01/01/2013)
Mileage (per mile): $0.565
Lodging (per day): $75.00 plus taxes
Breakfast: $7.25, $8.75*
Lunch: $7.25, $8.75*
Dinner: $16.50, $21.00*
*Select cities (All of Wayne County, All of Oakland County, Ann Arbor, Holland, South Haven)
Travel outside the State of Michigan
Your employer or its insurance company can have you examined by a doctor of their choosing. You must attend this independent medical evaluation or forfeit benefits. Even if you have moved out of state, you may still be cited for an examination in Michigan. You should be paid for travel expenses to and from. The only exception would be if the medical evaluation is scheduled close to trial. The idea is that you must travel to Michigan anyways.
What happens if they won’t pay
Sometimes insurance companies try to exploit injured employees by not paying the correct reimbursement rates. We see this happen when a client moves out of state and needs transportation. You could even win the reimbursement battle but lose the war. This happens when the insurance company agrees to pay travel expenses to its doctor but then cuts off future benefits based upon the evaluation.