We'll help you find the right solution for your needs
Does this sound like your topic?
What to do if you have received a traffic citation while driving on a limited work permit following a Driving Under the Influence (DUI) plea or conviction?
Following a plea or conviction of Driving Under the Influence (DUI), if you have not had a DUI in Georgia or any other state within the last five years, had a valid Georgia Drivers License and are over the age of 21, you may be eligible for a limited work permit from the Department of Driver Services (DDS) that lasts for 120 days if you meet the eligibility requirements set forth by the State of Georgia. A limited work permit is not valid for a commercial drivers license (CDL). Following that 120 day period and the completion of the requirements of DDS, you would be eligible for early reinstatement of your full driving privileges upon application with DDS.
If you receive any traffic citation or moving violation during those first 120 days and pay the fine, you will not be eligible for early reinstatement, your limited work permit will be revoked, and you will not be able to reinstate your full driving privileges after the first 120 days. Paying the fine of any moving violation will affect your limited work permit, including the $15.00 fine for a seat belt violation. Your limited work permit also allows you to drive for only the limited purposes as set forth by DDS and you can be cited with a violation of your limited work permit privileges.
What should you do if you get a traffic citation while driving on your limited work permit? The most important thing is not to pay the fine on-line, over the phone, or by mail. If you previously worked with an attorney, you may wish to contact that attorney or a qualified criminal attorney. Your citation will have a court date in which you need to appear in the jurisdiction where you received the citation.
If your court date is after you would be eligible for reinstatement of your full driving privileges, be sure to complete all the DDS requirements and have your licenses reinstated and obtain your plastic license prior to paying any fine or appearing for your court date.
If your court date is prior to the date when you would be eligible for reinstatement of your full driving privileges, you should appear at your scheduled court date and seek a reset or a continuance until after the date in which you would be eligible for reinstatement of your full driving privileges. If that date will not be too far in the future, you may not wish to explain that the reason for your request involves a limited work permit issue. If that date will be more than a month or two away, you may need to explain this issue to the state’s attorney if they are reluctant to reset your court date that far out. It may be in your best interest to have legal counsel representing you in this matter.
This guide assumes that you meet the eligibility requirements for a Georgia limited work permit. This guide is only for the limited informational purpose stated above. It is recommended that you seek legal advice from a qualified attorney to determine whether you qualify for a limited work permit prior to considering a plea to a charge of driving under the influence (DUI) as these are technical legal issues.