Written by attorney Robert Phillip Odle

The Seven Stages of Civil Litigation

Civil litigation may go through as many as seven different stages before reaching its conclusion. While not every lawsuit includes all of these stages, you will typically experience at least four stages before the conclusion of your case.

Additional resources provided by the author

To read about a hypothetical civil litigation case, check out our blog: What to Do when Holidays Go Haywire.

Free Q&A with lawyers in your area

Can’t find what you’re looking for?

Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer