The Impact a Florida DUI Conviction on Your Auto Insurance Premiums- The New FR-44 Form
The New FR-44 Requirement After A Florida DUI ConvictionThe State of Florida has just increase the amount a DUI conviction will cost you by passage of the new FR-44 requirement under Florida Statute 316.193. After a DUI conviction you must obtain the new FR-44 form from your insurance company in order to reinstate your driver's license. Your insurance company will then learn of your DUI conviction. Some auto insurance companies do not provide "high risk" insurance and may drop your coverage. If you attempt to obtain insurance after being canceled (or if the insurance company refuses to renew your coverage) you will have a second strike against you when you shop for another company to insure you.
FR-44 Requires Higher Liability Coverage of 100/300/50The FR-44 form is similar to the SR-44 form that was required under Florida law prior to February 2, 2008. The main difference with the FR-44 form is that it requires you to obtain increased liability limits of 100/300/50. This means that you must obtain minimum coverage of $100,000 per person for bodily injury, $300,000 minimum coverage per incident, and $50,000 minimum coverage for property damage. You must also pay a reinstatement fee if you did not have these higher limits in place at the time of the DUI.