The 3 Parts of the Colorado Seat Belt Laws
There are three parts of the Colorado seat belt laws that apply to nearly every vehicle on the road. Violations of the seat belt laws can lead to fines, but more importantly, they could result in serious injuries from a car accident.
Adult Seat Belt LawsSeat belt use is mandatory for drivers and all front-seat passengers. While you cannot be stopped for not wearing a seatbelt, if you are pulled over for any other driving violation (speeding, running a red light, etc.) you may be cited for not wearing your seatbelt. The fine for not complying with this part of Colorado's seat belt laws is a minimum of $65 in addition to any other fines for other driving violations.
Child Seat Belt LawsIf a police officer observes a child riding in a car without the proper safety restraints, he or she may pull the car over without any other cause. The types of safety restraints are as follows: Infants must be in a rear-facing child safety seat until they are one year old and weigh at least 20 pounds; toddlers between one and four years of age and who weigh between 20 and 40 pounds must be in a forward- or rear-facing child safety seat; children who weigh over 40 pounds or are over four years of age must be restrained in a child booster seat until the age of eight years old. Taller or larger children may use a special seat belt positioning device that adjusts the car's seat belts to comfortably fit a smaller body size; and children aged eight years and up must either wear an adult seat belt or a child restraint system. These rules apply to children no matter where they are located in the car. Violations of Colorado's child seat belt laws can result in fines starting at $82.
Exceptions to the Colorado Seat Belt LawsThere are two exceptions to the seat belt laws in Colorado. The first is when your vehicle was manufactured before 1968 or was not designed to be equipped with seat belts. Early model cars did not have mandatory seat belts installed until it was made a requirement in 1969. There are other types of vehicles exempt from seat belt laws if manufactured without seat belts. This does not apply to vehicles where the seat belts were removed after production. If they were originally in the vehicle they must remain. The other exception to the seat belt requirement is if use of a seat belt would create a physical or psychological harm to the user. If you are pulled over and you or a passenger is not wearing a seat belt because of a physically or mentally disabling condition, you must have documentation from a physician to prove your case. The document must certify the disabling condition and explain why seat belt use would be inappropriate or harmful.