Tennessee Domestic Assault Penalties
Memphis Criminal Lawyer Patrick Stegall goes over the possible punishment for a domestic assault charge in Tennessee.
The LawDomestic Assault is a serious crime in Tennessee that carries many immediate and long-lasting consequences if convicted. It is a Class A misdemeanor punishable up to 11 months and 29 days. Essentially, domestic assault is assault where the accused and the victim has some kind of domestic or family relationship. It can be between current or former spouses, a couple who is or was married, who have children, who have dated or are in a sexual relationship, or two people who are related by blood, marriage, or adoption.
PenaltiesTennessee misdemeanor domestic assault is punishable up to 11 months and 29 days. Felony assault, or aggravated assault, is a minimum three years if convicted. First offenders stand a good chance of staying out of jail and keeping the charge off their record, but it's going to take some work. You may be required to go on probation for the whole sentence and/or take anger management classes. A permanent conviction can keep you from working or getting into school, and it prohibits you from ever owning a firearm.