We'll help you find the right solution for your needs
Does this sound like your topic?
Massachusetts General Laws Ch 266 Sec 30A sets out the penalties for shoplifting. Under Massachusetts law shoplifting under $100 can result in:
First offense fine up to $250,
Second offense fine up to $500,
Third & later offenses fine up to $500 and jail up to 2 years.
Shoplifting over $100 comes with a fine up to $1000 and/or up to 2.5 years jail.
It is important to remember that shoplifting is a criminal offense and can result in a criminal record for those accused of shoplifting. Additionally, Massachusetts law allows for the stores that are shoplifted from to obtain civil damages up to $500 over actual damages. This is often done by the store sending you a Civil Demand Letter requesting that you pay the store an amount up to $500. Often the store will only send the Demand Letter without ever filing a civil suit, given the expense of filing and pursuing a civil law suit it is usually considered not cost effective for the company to do so.
Of some additional consideration is that sometimes the police will charge a shoplifting as a larceny under $250 which has a potential sentence of one year in jail or if the value was over $250 can and sometimes do charge a shoplifting as a larceny over $250, which is a felony with a potential penalty of 5 years in state prison and/or a fine up to $25,000.
Shoplifting and larceny charges in Massachusetts are serious business with far reaching implications. Given all that is at stake it is important to engage a criminal defense attorney with experience. Attorney Newton has handled hundreds of larceny cases and gives you the experience you deserve when you need it the most. Call today for a free consultation.
David Newton, Esq.