Raise the Age goes into effect on December 1, 2019 in North Carolina
North Carolina becomes the last state in the country to treat 16 and 17 year olds like adults for criminal purposes. All 16 and 17 year olds charged with any misdemeanor or H and I level felonies will be sent to juvenile court. This does not apply to motor vehicle offenses so youthful drivers will still go to traffic court like everyone else.
What is Juvenile Court in North Carolina?Now that we have a larger group eligible for juvenile court we thought it would be helpful to answer the question: What is juvenile court?
Juvenile Court in NC ExplainedJuvenile court is the court system that handles complaints against children (now including 16 and 17 year olds in North Carolina) who are alleged to be delinquent or undisciplined. When children engage in conduct that would be considered a crime if committed by an adult, the behavior is referred to as a “delinquent act.” When they engage in conduct that is inappropriate for minors but does not amount to a crime, such as running away from home or skipping school, they are considered to be “undisciplined” in North Carolina. Juvenile courts can “adjudicate” children as being delinquent or undisciplined and impose consequences that seek rehabilitation rather than punishment. The proceedings are intended to be more informal and more protective than a criminal trial. An adjudication that a juvenile is delinquent or undisciplined is not a public record and may not be disclosed to the public without a court order. However there is a process for expungement of juvenile records as well.