Possible Nonadjudication Conditions for DUI's in Mississippi
If the court grants your petition for nonadjudicaiton of a DUI offense, they will require you to complete certain court imposed conditions as set forth in Mississippi Code Annotated 63-11-30(14). Some of the conditions are mandatory while others are permissive.
Mandatory: Pay the nonadjudication fee imposed under Section 63-11-31The nonadjudication fee is $250.00 and must be paid in addition to any other fines, court cost or state assessments.
Mandatory: Pay all fines, penalties and assessments that would have been imposed for convictionThe fines referred to outlined in Mississippi Code Annotated 63-11-30(1). The minimum fine is $250.00 and the maximum fine is $1,000.00
Assessments vary from county to county and typically range from $250.00 to $350.00.
Mandatory: Attend and complete an alcohol safety education program as provided in Section 63-11-32The program which must be completed is the Mississippi Alcohol Safety Education Program. This class meets once a week for four weeks and each class is three hours. Therefore, there is a total of twelve hours and a cost of $190.00 which must be paid at the initial class.
Mandatory: Ignition Interlock or License Suspensionyou will be required to install an ignition-interlock device on every motor vehicle driven by your, obtain an interlock-restricted license, and maintain that license for one hundred twenty (120) days. Failure to obtain the interlock device and restricted license will result in suffering a one-hundred-twenty-day suspension of the driver's license.
The cost of the interlock device varies by company but typically ranges from $400.00 - $500.00 over the 120 day period.
The restricted license cost approximately $225.00 which is payable to the Mississippi Department of Public Safety at the time of obtaining the restricted license.
Permissive: Other ConditionsOther conditions to be imposed by the court may include, but are not limited to, alcohol or drug screening, or both, proof that the person has not committed any other traffic violations while under court supervision, proof of immobilization or impoundment of vehicles owned by the offender if required, and attendance at a victim-impact panel.