Skip to main content

Personal Injury Lawyer: What is a Certified Specialist?

Posted by attorney Christopher Zachar

When a Personal Injury Lawyer is a Certified Specialist in Personal Injury and Wrongful Death, what does that mean exactly?

According to the State Bar of Arizona, A Certified Specialist is….

“An attorney who has proven experience in a particular area of law."

A member must meet the following minimum standards for Specialization in Personal Injury and Wrongful Death:

• Admission to the practice of law for at least five (5) years

• Admission to the State Bar of Arizona for at least two (2) years immediately preceding submission of the application

• Devotion of at least 50% of a full-time practice to the specialty area

• Substantial involvement in the certification area for four to six of the years immediately preceding submission of the application

• Additionally, peer review is conducted and a written examination must be passed.

In Arizona, less than 2% of Lawyers are Certified Specialists.

To be considered worthy of being named a Certified Specialist in Personal Injury and Wrongful Death, in addition to the above listed requirements, a phoenix injury lawyer must demonstrate a superior knowledge and ability in the area of law.

What is necessary in regards to prove a “superior knowledge and ability" in the area of Personal Injury and Wrongful Death law? There are multiple factors:

1. Trial experience. A lawyer’s trial experience and results must prove that the lawyer is experienced and capable of handing personal injury and wrongful death cases through a jury trial. As all cases have the potential to go to trial, it is essential that the attorney know the rules and the procedures for this complicated process. Many attorneys don’t try cases. These attorneys will never obtain the distinction as a Certified Specialist.

2. Results. The case and/or trial results are important. Essentially, does the attorney “win"? The trial results are one thing that is taken into consideration in considering a lawyer for specialization.

3. Ethical standards and record. Contrary to what many people think, and notwithstanding the lawyer jokes that abound, lawyers in Arizona are held under a very close scrutiny by the State Bar of Arizona. Lawyers have a comprehensive code of ethical standards, the breach of which can subject the attorney to professional discipline, or even disbarment. An attorney’s ethics record is important in the certification process.

4. Peer review. In the qualification process, the review panel will obtain recommendations and opinions from many who have encountered the lawyer in a professional setting: Judges, opposing attorneys and other attorneys. These people will all be asked to give their confidential opinion of the lawyer, including knowledge of the law, legal abilities, ethical standards and professional communications.

5. Passing a 4 hour exam in the specialty area. Once an application and background investigation is complete, the lawyer must pass a four (4) hour written exam in the specialty area of law.

The process of becoming a Certified Specialist in Personal Injury and Wrongful Death in Phoenix, Arizona is a long process, and an achievement that is not only a sound endorsement of the lawyer’s abilities, but also, a very high honor for the personal injury lawyer who achieves it.

If your lawyer is a Certified Specialist in Personal Injury and Wrongful Death, you can be assured that you are in good hands, whatever the nature of your Personal Injury/Wrongful Death case.

Author of this guide:

Was this guide helpful?

Avvo personal injury email series

Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.

Recommended articles about Personal injury

Can't find what you're looking for?

Post a free question on our public forum.

Ask a Question

- or -

Search for lawyers by reviews and ratings.

Find a Lawyer