Penalties and Related Consequences of a New York Speeding Conviction
If you have recently received a speeding ticket in NY, you probably know that you are facing a fine and some points. However, you may also be facing additional fees from DMV, higher insurance premiums and possibly suspension or revocation depending on whether you have priors on your driving record.
Points for Speeding Convictions in New YorkAs of the date of publication, the amount of points you are facing will depend on the speed you were allegedly traveling.
* If 1-10 mph over the limit, 3pts.
* If 11-20 mph over the limit, 4pts.
* If 21-30 mph over the limit, 6pts.
* If 31-40 mph over the limit, 8pts.
* If 41 mph or more over the limit, then 11pts.
New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) suspends drivers that receive 11 points within an 18-month period.
* Points are added to a driving record when the driver is convicted of the violation
* Point totals are calculated from the date of the violation, not the date of the conviction
* Only points received within an 18-month period are added to calculate your point total
Fine & Surcharges for Speeding Tickets in New YorkAs of the date of publication, the amount of the fine depends on the speed charged and whether you have any other speeding convictions in the past 18 months.
If you have no prior speeding convictions in the past 18 months, then fines are as follows:
* 1-10 mph over the limit carries a maximum fine of $150
* 11-30 mph over the limit carries a maximum fine of $300
* Over 30 mph would be a $600 maximum fine.
If you have prior speeding convictions in the past 18 months, then the maximum fines increase.
2nd Offense in 18 months
* 1-10 mph over the limit carries a maximum fine of $300
* 11-30 mph over the limit carries a maximum fine of $450
* Over 30 mph would be a $750 maximum fine.
3rd Offense in 18 months
* 1-10 mph over the limit carries a maximum fine of $525
* 11-30 mph over the limit carries a maximum fine of $675
* Over 30 mph would be a $975 maximum fine.
In addition, NYS charges a mandatory surcharge of either $88 or $93 depending on whether the ticket is returnable to a city or town court. Surcharges and/or fines may be significantly more if you were charged with speeding in a school zone or construction zone (VTL 1180c & 1180f).
DMV Driver Assessment FeeAs of the date of publication, New York State Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) charges a Driver Assessment Fee if you accumulate a minimum of six points within an 18-month period. The fee is $300 for the first six points and an additional $75 for each additional point accrued within an 18-month period. DMV allows drivers to pay an assessment fee in equal installments over three years. The fee is also charged to out-of-state licensees.
Increased Insurance PremiumsAlthough it is impossible to say exactly how much your insurance premium will increase due to a speeding conviction, you can rest assured that your insurance company will raise the price of your auto policy if you have a new conviction on your record at renewal time. Depending on the number & type of convictions, your annual policy premium could easily increase by hundreds.
Suspension & RevocationThere are several ways you could realize a suspension. Listed below are some common ways to realize a suspension.
* Accumulate more than 11 points within an 18-month period.
* Commercial Drivers will be suspended for 60-days for receiving 2 speeding convictions of 15mph or more within a 3yr period, and a 120-day suspension for 3 speeding convictions of 15mph or more within a 3yr period.
* Two speeding convictions in a construction zone will result in suspension.
* Failure to timely answer a traffic ticket
* Failure to pay a court fine
A driver may also have his/her license revoked if s/he receives at least three speeding convictions within an 18-month period.
Potential Jail TimeAlthough it is usually reserved for high speeds and/or repeat offenders, it is important to remember that most speeding violations carry the potential for jail time as well.