Same Rules for Rest Breaks, Meal Periods and Paid Sick Leave
Hiring workers for shortened hours or for fewer days weekly
does not absolve an employer from complying with the full range of workplace legal requirements. In fact, greater attention may be required with part-time employees to avoid the wage and hour pitfalls.
Paid Rest Breaks.
Under this state*s Industrial Wage Commission (IWC) Wage Orders, California business generally must provide a paid ten-minute rest period for *each four hours worked (or major fraction thereof),* in which the employee is relieved of all duties. There is a special rule for someone who only works three hours or less in a day.
Thus, for example:
* Up to three hours daily labor: no break required;
* Over three hours and up to six hours daily labor: one break required (four hours plus half or less of a second four hours);
* Over six hours and up to ten hours daily labor: two breaks required (between four hours and over one-half of another four and two four hour periods and half or less of a third four hours).
Unpaid Meal Periods.
Employers may not employ an not-exempt-from overtime worker for a work period of more than five (5) hours a day without providing the person an off-duty meal period of not less than 30 minutes commencing before the end of the fifth hour. However, if the employee works no more than six (6) hours in a day, the employee may by written agreement waive that meal period. See, IWC Wage Orders and Labor Code 512.
if an employee begins work at 9:00 a.m. and works a six-hour day, the employee must start a single meal break before 2:00 p.m. when the fifth hour of work ends, unless the employee signs a meal break waiver.
Paid Sick Leave.
Most California employers regardless of size must provide a minimum of 24-hours of paid sick leave per year to any temporary, part-time or full-time employee who has worked in the state for 30 days. Whether part-time or full-time, an employee is entitled to use paid sick days beginning on the 90th day of employment.
Companies generally have the choice
of adopting a plan that accrues such paid leave at a rate of at least one hour for every 30 hours worked or one that allocates all paid hours up-front annually. Thus, a company with an accrual plan will have see its full-time workers reach maximum benefit rights sooner than its part-timers. (Employers with so-called *paid time off* (PTO) policies may have special rules that apply.) See, Mandatory Paid Sick Leave for California Employees (September, 2014).
Businesses must follow
the higher standards for paid sick leave standards imposed by particular cities or counties, even if employees work within their boundaries for only a few hours a week. See, for example, Requiring Employers to Pay for Sick Days; a National Trend (August, 2017); San Diego Paid Sick Leave Requirements, Effective July 11 and September 2, 2016 (August 2016); City of Los Angeles New Paid Sick Leave Requirements (June 2016); and Oakland Paid Sick Leave Law Provides Greater Benefits Than the Upcoming State Requirements (March 2015).
Other Requirements, including Workers* Compensation:
Among other things, employers must also provide workers* compensation insurance coverage for part-time workers as well as make pay for daily overtime hours (over eight), provide the standard pay deductions, and include compliant wage statements with paychecks.
* Required Meal Periods and Rest Breaks Revisited (April, 2018)
* Employee Meal Periods and Rest Breaks (September, 2016)
For further information,
please contact Tim Bowles, Cindy Bamforth or Helena Kobrin.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.