In Florida, a biological mother can sign her consent to adoption no sooner than 48 hours after delivery unless she is discharged from medical care by her medical professional prior to that time. A legal or biological father can sign his consent to adoption any time after the child's birth. Additionally, a legal or biological father can sign an affidavit of nonpaternity at any time, including prior to birth.
Is the consent to adoption irrevocable?
Pursuant to Florida law, a consent to adoption that is executed on a child younger than 6 months of age is irrevocable upon signing. There is no grace period for the parent to change his or her mind and the consent can be overturned only upon proof of fraud or duress. However, when a parent signs a consent to adoption for a child over 6 months of age, the parent has 3 business days to revoke the consent for any reason. Once this period passes, the consent can only be overturned based on fraud or duress.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.