OWI Offenses in Iowa
This guide will summarize the common penalties for an OWI First Offense in Iowa (2020)
Driving PenaltiesA first offense OWI generally results in a 180-day license revocation if the driver fails a chemical test and a 1-year revocation if the driver refuses a test. This will go into effect 10 days after the test results are received or the refusal takes place. During this time, most drivers are eligible to obtain a Temporary Restricted License (TRL). This TRL will allow the driver to engage in any driving that is legal under a normal license, provided the rules are followed.
To obtain a TRL, the driver generally has to do the following:
1) Pay a $200 civil penalty, and possibly a $20 reinstatement fee to the Iowa DOT.
2) Obtain SR-22 insurance.
3) Obtain proof of installation of an ignition interlock device.
4) Fill out the required application and take it to a full service DOT station.
Following the revocation period, in order to obtain a full license the driver must:
1) Show proof of completing the required substance abuse evaluation and all recommended treatment.
2) Show proof of completing a DOT drinking drivers course.
3) Pay the $200 penalty if not done so already.
4) Obtain SR-22 insurance.
5) Be otherwise eligible for an Iowa driver's license.
Please discuss the potential driver's license consequences with an attorney.
Criminal (Court) PenaltiesA first offense OWI case in the State of Iowa has a minimum fine of $1250 and jail sentence between 2 days and 1 year. A substance abuse evaluation and any recommended treatment is required to be completed as well. If the defendant qualifies, a deferred judgment can be offered which avoids any jail sentence but still requires a DOT class, depending on the jurisdiction. Please speak with an attorney about any possible penalties for your case.