Property: Homestead occupied by debtor (applicable to proceeds from sale of homestead for 1 year and to condominium units (ORS 91.581(3)).
Amount of exemption: $40,000 for one debtor, $50,000 for combined exemptions of 2 or more debtors (cannot exceed 160 acres or 1 city block)
Property: Manufactured or floating home on land owned by debtor and used by debtor and family as sole residence.
Amount of exemption: $40,000 for one debtor, $50,000 for combined exemptions of 2 or more debtors
Debtors may claim only one of the above exemptions.
The exemption in ORS 18.345(1)(a), (b), (c), (d), and (j) may be claimed separately by joint debtors (see ORS 18.345(3)).
Oregon recognizes domestic partnerships under ORS 106.3409. If this has been tested in federal court I am unaware, but it appears the statute grants domestic partners the benefit of the increased spousal exemption amounts.
Debtors do not need to reside in Oregon on the date of filing to claim Oregon exemptions.
Debtors can apply the Oregon homestead exemption to property outside of Oregon.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.