The following items will disqualify you
- The physical inability to handle a firearm safely, or failing to show you can handle one properly.
- A felony conviction
- An adjudication withheld or sentence suspended on a felony or misdemeanor crime of violence
(must wait 3 years following completion of supervision)
- A conviction for a misdemeanor crime of violence in the last three years.
- A conviction for violation of controlled substance laws or multiple arrests for such offenses.
- A record of drug or alcohol abuse.
-Two or more DUI convictions within the previous three years.
- Being committed to a mental institution or adjudged incompetent or mentally defective.
- Having been issued a domestic violence injunction or an injunction against repeat violence that is
currently in force
If you are unsure, consult an attorney. Submitting an application if you do not qualify may result in criminal charges.
Obtain an Application
You can request an application from the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Affairs at this website. Just copy and paste the link into your browser. http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/license/forms.html. Fill it out and have the application notarized. There is one confusing question regarding whether you are a person entitled to have your License record withheld from being a public record. Because of a new law everyone should answer yes to this question.
Attend a Concealed Carry Class
The required classes are not very expensive, usually around $50 or less, and take approximately 3 hours. If you are non-Florida resident applying for a Florida License the course may be more expensive in your state. If you have previously taken a hunter safety class in Florida or elsewhere, or any other firearm safety class you may be able to skip this step if you have proof of completion of the course.
Get Photographed and Fingerprinted
You will need two copies of a passport style photograph. You can get this at most drug stores and some classes will provide the photography and notary of the application as an additional service. You will also need to go to your local police or sherriff's office and get fingerprinted. If your local police offer it, opt for the electronic fingerprinting. The costs is approximately $42. You will need to check to see what payment methods are accepted.
Submit Your Application
Submit your application by certified mail or other method that will show date of receipt. The state must notify you within 30 days of receiving the application if it is incomplete in any way. Once a complete application is received, a 90 clock begins to run. If you are notified within the first 30days the clock does not start until you get the additional information to the state. The state must approve or deny the application within the 90 days. If you receive a denial you are entitled to a hearing and should immediately contact an attorney. If you do not receive your approval or denial within the 90 days, you may be entitled to a default license under Fla. Stat 120.60.
Review the Rules
Review the rules regarding prohibited carry places. Carrying in a prohibited place can result in a license revocation. If you see a sign at any private business prohibiting concealed carry you may ignore it. Florida law does not have a mechanism allowing business owners to prohibit firearms in that manner. Do be aware if a business discovers you are carrying, they may ask you to leave and a failure to do so immediately can result in a charge of armed trespass.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.
What determines Avvo Rating?
Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.