Significant changes to North Carolina's justice system for young offenders and sex-related offenses began starting on December 1, 2019.
Raise The Age in NC
North Carolina has been the last state in which 16- and 17-year-olds were treated like adults for criminal purposes. Now 16 and 17 year olds will go into juvenile court like all other 49 states in the country.
Sexual Assault in NC
North Carolina's designation as the only state where women can't revoke consent during sex will be eliminated thanks to a recent new law. So finally No really does mean No in North Carolina.
Child Abuse Laws in NC
The sexual assault changes extend the limited time child sexual abuse victims can sue for civil damages from age 21 to 28.Any adult can now sue for damages within two years of the felony criminal conviction of someone related to sexual abuse the adult suffered as a child. The law also extends the statute of limitations for certain misdemeanor child-abuse crimes from two years to 10 and sets new requirements upon adults to report child abuse to authorities.
Criminal Offense of Death by Distribution in NC
A new felony was created to target drug dealers who contribute to a user's overdose death.The "Death by Distribution" law will punish the seller even when a prosecutor can't prove the person acted to intentionally harm the victim.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.