In Connecticut, motorists who have a certain number of moving violations or suspensions violations on their driving record may be required to undergo a Mandatory Operator Retraining Program.
In Connecticut, motorists over the age of 24 are required to complete an Operator Retaining Program when he or she has three moving violations or suspension violations specified in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-111g(a) on his or her driving record. While if a driver is under the age of 24, and has two moving violations or suspension violations specified in Conn. Gen. Stat. § 14-111g(a) on his or her driving record, the motorist will be required to complete an Operator Retraining Program. Additionally, any driver who is convicted of traveling faster than 75 miles per hour in a highway work zone or is a driver of a commercial vehicle and is convicted of traveling faster than 65 miles per hour in a highway work zone, will also have to undergo an Operator Retraining Program. The vendor for the Operator Retraining Program may charge a fee for the program of up to $85.00.
Suspension of Driver's License
If the motorist completes the Operator Retraining Program prior to the effective date of the suspension, the suspension will be removed after the DMV receives confirmation of the class completion from the vendor. Therefore, to avoid suspension, the DMV recommends that drivers schedule and complete the Operator Retraining Program at least two weeks prior to the effective suspension date to allow the vendor to submit the results of the program to the DMV. If the motorist does not complete the Operator Retraining Program until the effective date of suspension or after, the motorist will be required to pay a $175.00 license restoration fee to the DMV.
36 Consecutive Month Probationary Period
After a motorist completes an Operator Retraining Program, he or she must complete 36 consecutive months without having any additional moving violations or suspension violations specified in Connecticut General Statute Section 14-111g(a) added to his or her driving history. If another moving violation is added to a driver’s record, the DMV will suspend the motorist’s license or operating privilege for 30 days for a first violation, 60 days for a second violation, and 90 days for a third or subsequent violation. In order to reinstate a license after suspension, the operator must pay a $175.00 license restoration fee.
Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund or Community Service Work Hours
In Connecticut, a court may, in the disposition of any criminal or motor vehicle case, including a dismissal or the imposition of a sentence, consider the fact that the defendant made a charitable contribution to the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund established under Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-215 or a contribution of community service work hours to a private nonprofit charity or other nonprofit organization. Additionally, pursuant to Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-56h(b), when entering a nolle prosequi, when the prosecutor decides to not prosecute the case, the state’s attorney in charge of the case may consider the fact that the defendant has made a monetary contribution to the Criminal Injuries Compensation Fund or a contribution of community service work hours to a private charity or nonprofit organization.
Additional resources provided by the author
If you are facing a moving violation that may jeopardize the status of your license, it is important that you know your legal options and the potential penalties that could result from a conviction. If you are facing any criminal or traffic violations, you should contact an experienced criminal attorney in your area.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on
their profile in addition to the information we collect from state
bar associations and other organizations that license legal
professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo
with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do
What determines Avvo Rating?Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.