Missouri Traffic Conviction Point System
Missouri Traffic Law Point System The State of Missouri has a statutory provision for assessment of points for moving traffic violations imposed by the State or County or Municipal Government. In Missouri, if you are convicted of a moving violation, the Court will notify the Missouri Department of Revenue and the appropriate points will be assessed against your driving record. If you accumulate too many points, the Department of Revenue will issue a suspension notice for a minimum of 30 days. The Missouri Department of Revenue point system is as follows: 1. Any moving violation of State Law or County or Municipal or Federal Traffic Ordinance not listed below - 2 points. 2. Violation of Municipal Stop Sign Ordinance with no accident - 1 point. 3. Speeding in violation of State Law - 3 points; in violation of County or Municipal Ordinance - 2 points. 4. Leaving the scene of an accident - 12 points; in violation of County or Municipal Ordinance - 6 points. 5. Careless and Imprudent Driving in violation of 304.016 - 4 points; in violation County or Municipal Ordinance - 2 points. 6. Operating without a valid license in violation of 302.020: (a) first conviction - 2 points; (b) second conviction - 4 points; (c) third conviction - 6 points. 7. Operating with a suspended or revoked license prior to restoration of driving privilege - 12 points. 8. Obtaining a license by misrepresentation - 12 points. 9. First conviction driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance - 8 points. 10. Second or subsequent conviction for driving while intoxicated or under the influence of a controlled substance or driving with a blood alcohol content of .08 of 1% or more by weight - 12 points. 11. Driving with blood alcohol content of .08 of 1% or more by weight in violation of State Law - 8 points; in violation of County or Municipal Ordinance or Federal Law or Regulation - 8 points. 12. Any felony involving the use of a motor vehicle - 12 points. 13. Knowingly permitting unlicensed operating to operate a motor vehicle - 4 points. 14. Failure to maintain financial responsibility pursuant to County or Municipal Ordinance or pursuant to ?303.025 - 4 points. 15. Endangerment of a highway worker in violation of ?304.585 - 4 points. 16. Aggravated endangerment of a highway worker - 12 points. 17. Conviction of violation of Municipal Ordinance prohibiting tow truck operators from stopping or proceeding the scene of an accident unless requested - 4 points. 18. An additional 2 points shall be assessed when personal injury or property damage results from any violation of the above infractions. The above list and assessment can change by operation of the legislature and the above list is not exhausted. If an individual accumulates 8 or more points in an 18 month period your driving privilege will be suspended for a period of 30 days for a first offense, second suspension of 60 days, third or subsequent suspension your license will be suspended for 90 days. Accumulation of 12 or more points in 12 months, 18 or more points in 24 months or 24 or more points in 36 months will result in a one-year suspension. In addition to these suspensions, there are other potential suspensions or revocations of driving privilege based on the driving history and the offense committed.