Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault in Illinois
This guide will give you the full details of the crime of Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault in Illinois if you are charged or soon to be charged with Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault.
Overview of the Types of Assault in IllinoisUnder Illinois Criminal laws, the crimes of Assault, Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault, and Felony Aggravated Assault are separate offenses, but very similar. Arson, Residential Arson and Aggravated Arson are all felonies under Illinois Criminal laws, depending on how the criminal prosecutor has chosen to apply the facts of your case to the state of the law, the type of felony varies. Below is more specific information on the crime of Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault that may help you ask the right questions when you are interviewing a criminal defense attorney in your area. Feel free to reach out to Steve Amjad now about your case if you are in Central Illinois; call him at 217-819 HELP(4357) or fill out a contact form online in his Avvo.com profile.
Misdemeanor Aggravated AssaultMisdemeanor Aggravated Assault is a class A Misdemeanor is based upon either where the Assault takes place or based upon who the victim of the Assault was or based upon certain items being used in the Assault. An Assault becomes Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault when it takes place in a public area, or a place of accommodation, or a place of amusement. An Assault also becomes Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault if when it takes place against an elderly, a handicapped person, a government employee or when the perpetrator wears certain clothes or videotapes the event and publicizes the video. 720 ILCS 5/12-2. YOU ARE GUILTY IF the State can prove: 1. You knew or intended your actions to caused someone to be afraid that you would cause bodily harm or insulting or provoking contact; and 2. You used certain weapons or clothes at the time, or the victim was a government employee at work at the time of the assault, or the assault was an attempt to stop certain government employees from doing their jobs, or the assault took place in a certain type of public building, or you assaulted someone on public transportation, or the victim was handicapped, or the victim was over 60 years old. IF YOUR ARE FOUND GUILTY, you can be sentenced to up to 1 year in jail, and a fine of up to $2500.
Do I need a Lawyer?When you are accused of a crime in Illinois, you need to hire the best criminal defense attorney that you can find; Misdemeanor Aggravated Assault is no exception to the rule that hiring a qualified criminal defense counsel in Illinois is always a good idea. Your criminal defense attorney will review any evidence in your case and provide you with advice on whether to plead guilty or to take the criminal case to trial and fight the charges. In central Illinois, Steve Amjad is experienced enough to know the likely result in a criminal trial if you take your case to a jury. He will fairly assess your case, listen to you about the evidence you have, and advise you whether to take the deal or roll the dice with a jury trial. Don't take his word for it, read what Steve's former clients have said on his Avvo.com profile. Feel free to reach out to Steve Amjad now about your case in central Illinois; call him at 217-819 HELP(4357) or fill out a contact form on his Avvo.com profile.