We'll help you find the right solution for your needs
Does this sound like your topic?
A Clarksburg auto accident attorney can explain how missing minimum West Virginia insurance requirements can affect your car accident claim. Many states have car insurance laws that require you to carry a minimum amount of insurance if you drive your car. In fact, some states will not allow you to register your vehicle without it. Although it may seem like a waste of money, especially if you are a safe driver, car insurance protects you in case an accident occurs. A car crash can happen at any time and cause serious injuries. You may end up disabled, and your car may be totaled. West Virginia insurance requirements were put in place to protect you financially in such instances. West Virginia Insurance Requirements In West Virginia, all registered cars must be covered by the minimum insurance requirements. Your coverage must include both liability and uninsured motorist coverage. The minimum coverage for liability and uninsured motorist coverage is: • $20,000 for an accident involving one injury; • $40,000 for an accident involving two or more injuries; and • $10,000 for property damage. These are just the minimum amounts. It is recommended that drivers purchase even higher limits, especially for uninsured motorist coverage. Just because having car insurance is the law does not mean that everyone purchases it. Many drivers cannot afford insurance, so they just drive without it, and a Clarksburg auto accident attorney knows this can affect your car accident claim. If you were to get into an accident with an uninsured motorist, your insurance coverage would pay for medical expenses and any damages because you likely will not get much compensation, if any, from the other driver. If he or she cannot afford car insurance, then it is highly unlikely that he or she can pay for your medical expenses and vehicle damage. West Virginia drivers are also offered optional insurance coverage for uninsured and underinsured motorists. For uninsured motorist coverage, drivers are offered limits of up to $50,000 for property damage and $100,000 and $300,000 to cover bodily injury. For underinsured motorist coverage, drivers can choose to add $10,000 for property damage and $20,000 or $40,000 for bodily injury. Contact a Clarksburg auto accident attorney to see which types of insurance are right for your situation. Penalties for Missing Minimum Requirements Your proof of insurance should always be kept in your vehicle because police officers will request it if they ever stop you for a traffic violation or other reason. The Department of Motor Vehicles will verify your insurance when you register your vehicle. The department also may check it various times throughout the year. If you do not meet West Virginia insurance requirements, you will be sent a notice. Failure to provide proof of insurance can result in license suspension. Your registration also may be suspended. In either case, you will need to pay fees in order to have your license or registration reinstated. Contacting a Clarksburg Auto Accident Attorney If you were involved in a car accident, and you or the other driver do not meet minimum West Virginia insurance requirements, it can affect your car accident claim. Contact a Clarksburg auto accident attorney from the Miley Legal Group. Their legal staff is dedicated to personal injury victims. Contact them today at 1-304-931-4088.
Medical expenses for personal injury Personal injury Personal injury lawsuits Personal injury settlement Fault laws and personal injury cases Types of personal injuries Car Accidents Personal injury accidents Lawsuits and disputes
Sign up to receive a 3-part series of useful information and advice about personal injury law.