o You must be a Michigan resident to be a registered patient in the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program (MMMP).
o There is an application fee to register for the MMMP. The fee cannot be waived, although it can be reduced under certain circumstances.
o You must have a qualifying debilitating medical condition as listed on the Attending Physician's Statement.
o The MMMP cannot supply you with seeds or starter plants, or give you advice on how to grow medical marijuana.
o Your physician must be a Medical Doctor (MD) or Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) licensed to practice in Michigan. You must have an established patient/physician relationship with your "attending physician." Other licensed health professionals such as Chiropractors, physician assistants and nurse practitioners cannot sign the documentation.
o The MMMP cannot refer you to a physician. The MMMP does not have a physician referral list.
How To Become a Med Marijuana Patient
1. Get a copy of your medical records from the last 3 years. You need 3 documented visits with your qualifying condition.
2. Go to your local Hemp and Cannabis Foundation Clinic THCF or the Michigan Medical Marijuana Certification Center (MMMCC).
3. Obtain a recommendation from the Clinic.
4. Fill out your forms and assign a caregiver on your forms.
5. Submit your paperwork to The Michigan Department of Community Health .
6. Four (4) to six (6) weeks later your state card should arrive in the mail.
Compassion Clubs: How To Become a MI Med Marijuana Caregiver
Find a registered patient that is willing to select you as their caregiver.
o You can find patients looking for caregivers at http://www.mimjcaregivers.lefora.com/
o Submit your information at http://www.mimjcaregivers.com/caregiver.html
o Go to you local Compassion Club to find a patient
o Become a Certified Michigan Medical Marijuana Caregiver here and we will send you leads for patients
1. Once you have a patient identified, fill out the change form and send it in with $10 to the MDCH
2. After you received the card (some say 20 days after check clears) you can begin to grow for your patient.
3. You are allowed by Michigan law to have 5 patients.
Part I: Final Points Re: Med Marijuana in Michigan
o You, or your designated primary caregiver, may grow your marijuana. There currently is no place in the state of Michigan to legally purchase medical marijuana.
o The MMMP cannot find a designated primary caregiver for you. The MMMP does not keep a referral list of persons who want to be caregivers for patients. (You are not required to list a caregiver unless you are less than 18 years old.) Your caregiver cannot be your physician.
Caveat Emptor: Med Marijuana Law in Michigan when Fed Law Trumps It
o If you decide to change your caregiver, it is your responsibility to notify him or her that he or she is no longer protected under the law. The MMMP does not communicate directly with caregivers.
o The MMMP will only speak directly with the patient. All written requests to release information must be signed and dated by the patient. The MMMP will not accept written or verbal requests for information from your caregiver or any other person without your permission.
o The Act neither protects marijuana plants from seizure nor individuals from prosecution if the federal government chooses to take action against patients or caregivers under the federal Controlled Substances Act.
Our Rating is calculated using information the lawyer has included on their profile in addition to the information we collect from state bar associations and other organizations that license legal professionals. Attorneys who claim their profiles and provide Avvo with more information tend to have a higher rating than those who do not.
What determines Avvo Rating?
Experience & background
Years licensed, work experience, education
Legal community recognition
Peer endorsements, associations, awards
Legal thought leadership
Publications, speaking engagements
This lawyer was disciplined by a state licensing authority in .
Disciplinary information may not be comprehensive, or updated. We recommend that you always check a lawyer's disciplinary status with their respective state bar association before hiring them.