Maryland DUI MVA Penalties
If you refuse to take a test to determine blood alcohol or drug concentration, or take a test and fail it, then the police officer will confiscate your driver’s license (Maryland driver’s only), issue a paper temporary license and prepare a case for the MVA.
If you do not request a MVA hearing within 10 days of your Maryland DUI arrest, on the 46th day after the “order of suspension” date specified on the Maryland Officer’s Certification and Order of Suspension, your Maryland driving privilege (driver’s license) will be suspended or disqualified.
The suspension/disqualification periods for DUI in Maryland are as follows:
Blood Alcohol Content: 0.08 – 0.14 1st DUI – 45 day suspension 2nd DUI or more – 90 day suspension
Blood Alcohol Content: 0.15 or more 1st DUI – 90 day suspension 2nd DUI or more – 180 day suspension
Blood Alcohol Content: Refused test 1st DUI – 120 day suspension 2nd DUI or more: 1 year suspension
Mr. Albers will help you determine whether a MVA hearing is recommended. He has had success winning MVA hearings and obtaining modified driver’s licenses for clients. Call 443/821-0035 to speak directly to Maryland DUI Attorney Ross W. Albers.