Mandatory Penalties for a Fourth Offense DUI in 10 Years in Virginia
A fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia has mandatory minimum penalties, including prison, fines, court costs, payment to the Virginia Trauma Center Fund, driver's license revocation, possible vehicle seizure and forfeiture, vehicle impoundment, DMV points, and a permanent felony conviction.
PrisonA fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia is a Class 6 felony. It is punished with a mandatory minimum sentence of 1 year in prison up to 5 years in prison.
FineA fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia is punished with a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000 and the fine can be as high as $2,500.
Court CostsAnyone convicted of a fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia will have to pay court costs. Failure to pay court costs on time can result in further driver's license suspension which will continue until the court costs are paid in full.
Virginia Trauma Center FundAnyone convicted of a fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia is required to pay a fine of $50 to the Virginia Trauma Center Fund, in addition to any other fines and court costs.
Driver's License RevocationIf a driver is convicted of a fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia, his driver's license will be revoked INDEFINITELY. This means that he cannot drive in Virginia ever again unless he has his driving privileges restored by petitioning the court. Additionally, the offender cannot even apply for a restricted driver's license for at least 3 years, and he must wait 5 years to petition for restoration of his driving privileges.
Vehicle Seizure and ForfeitureAfter a driver is arrested for a fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia, the Commonwealth can seize the vehicle that the offender was driving during the commission of the offense and the vehicle could be forfeited to the state.
Vehicle ImpoundmentIf a driver is arrested for a fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia was driving on a suspended or revoked license related to a DUI conviction (DUI, DUI Maiming conviction, DUI-Related Driving on a Suspended or Revoked License, Commercial Driver DUI), Breathalyzer Refusal conviction, Habitual Offender status based on an alcohol-related offense, driving in violation of an administrative license suspension, or driving without an operator's license after having been previously convicted of that offense, the vehicle he was driving at the time of the offense can be impounded for up to 30 days. If the impoundment resulted from driving without a valid operator's license, the impoundment period will be for up to 3 days
DMV PointsThe Virginia DMV will automatically assess 6 demerit points to a driver's record if he is convicted of a fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia.
Felony ConvictionThe last and possibly worst penalty for a fourth offense DUI in 10 years in Virginia is a felony conviction on the offender's permanent criminal record that can never be expunged.
Additional resources provided by the author
- DUI in Virginia
- Virginia DUI Penalties
- Is a DUI a Felony in Virginia?
- Driving on a Revoked License in Virginia (DUI Related)
- DUI Fourth Offense in 10 Years in Virginia
- Vehicle Forfeiture in Virginia After a Felony DUI
- Restricted License in Virginia After a DUI Conviction
- Vehicle Impoundment After a DUI Arrest in Virginia
- Expungement in Virginia
- Class 6 Felony in Virginia
- Failure to Pay Fines and Court Costs and Driver's License Suspension in Virginia
- Driver's License Restoration in Virginia
- Restoration of Driving Privileges After DUI Conviction in Virginia
- Implied Consent Law in Virginia
- Breathalyzer Refusal in Virginia
- Breathalyzer Test in Virginia
- Blood Test After a DUI Arrest in Virginia
- Commercial Driver DUI in Virginia
- Administrative License Suspension in Virginia
- Habitual Offender Laws in Virginia
- Virginia Driving Without License Charge
- DUI Maiming in Virginia