Indecent Exposure and the Law in the State of Florida
Indecent exposure is categorized as a sex crime in the state of Florida. People can be charged with this under circumstances where they never intended to offend anyone; therefore, fighting such charges is extremely important if the accused is to avoid a criminal conviction.
Have you been charged with indecent exposure in the state of Florida? Are you confused about what types of offenses are categorized as such? Indecent exposure falls under the category of sex crimes and involves the exposing of one’s genitalia or breasts in a public place, typically for the purpose of self-arousal, for arousing others or for offending them. A woman exposing her breasts in order to breastfeed an infant will not count under any circumstances.
The truth is, a lot of people have been guilty at some point in their lives, whether they knew it or not at that point in time. Changing your clothes on a beach, losing your bathing suit in a public pool, urinating on the side of a highway on a long road trip, or exposing one’s breast in a public place can all be considered indecent exposure. In the state of Florida, this is a first degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine.
If the exposure occurred in the presence of a victim who was under 16 years of age, the offense would be considered lewd and lascivious exhibition, which is classified as a second degree felony. Therefore, if a man took off his swimming trunks and jumped into a pool at a backyard party and there were children present, he can be punished by up to 15 years in prison and/or fined up to $10,000.
People have a tendency to expose themselves on occasion, whether intentionally or by mistake. A simple joke or prank can have a devastating impact on your future. Even if there were no children present at the time of the offense, a conviction can still ruin your life. Having a permanent mark on your criminal record will affect future employment opportunities, your ability to lease an apartment or a home, your ability to obtain student loans and more. If there was a minor present, whether you knew it or not at the time of the offense, you could go to prison for 15 years!
It is absolutely vital that you retain the services of an attorney at the onset of your case in order to give you the best chances of fighting the charges against you. You are urged to contact a criminal defense lawyer right away so that you have the best opportunity to avoid a criminal conviction. With the right help of an aggressive defense attorney on your side, there is no reason to believe that you case doesn’t stand a chance when contested in court.