I got a DUI in California. How Do I Get the Suspension Hold Off My Drivers License?
This guide is to inform you of the necessary steps to remove the suspension hold on your California Driver's License after a DUI arrest. Although this guide is California specific, other states will likely have a similar process.
Recently Convicted of a California DUI and Now Reside Out Of State?If you have no immediate plans to move back to California and you have a suspension hold on your license you will need to call Mandatory Actions Unit of the California DMV at 916 657 6525 and file a 1650.
What is a 1650?A 1650 is a waiver that informs California DMV that you are not a resident of California and you plan not to be in the future. California will then lift the suspension hold, which will free up your ability to reinstate and / or apply for a non-California drivers license.
Mandatory Actions Says I'm Not Eligible for a 1650 yet, Now What?In California, you'll first have to sit out the California mandatory suspension. For a First Offense DUI (Non Felony / Non Refusal), the mandatory suspension period is 6 months from the date you plead guilty in California Court. For a Second Offense DUI, it's a mandatory 2 year wait period. If you refused or if this case is a felony, the suspension period will be longer. In this event, contact a CA DUI lawyer to find out the mandatory suspension wait period.
I Can't Get Through to Mandatory Actions, What Do I Do?Mandatory Actions unit is a nightmare to get through to and there is no getting around it. As an attorney, I have spent up to 1 hour and 25 minutes calling and hanging up and calling again because the lines are busy. I suggest not calling on Mondays or first thing in the morning.