How To Tell If You Have A Lemon Law Claim In Mississippi
Bought a vehicle and now something's not working that should be? The dealer can't seem to fix it? Read below to see if you have a lemon law case.
Answer the question, Does my vehicle have a warranty remaining on it?The first thing to keep in mind is that Mississippi's lemon law is not limited to new vehicles. The statute is about warranties, not whether a car is new or not. So, if your car is used, but there's a warranty remaining on it, you may have a case.
Thus, first answer the question, Does my car have a warranty remaining on it?
If the answer is "yes," you can proceed with reviewing the statute.
Review the statuteThe defect or malfunction in your vehicle must affect the (1) use (2) market value or (3) safety of your vehicle. The defect in your vehicle must fall into one of these three categories.
The defect cannot be the result of something you did.
The dealership gets a chance to fix the defect.
But the statute kicks in once a dealership has had the vehicle in its possession for (a) 15 or more business days (doesn't matter whether these days were in a row; can be 15 or more days total) or (b) you've taken the vehicle to the dealership 3 or more times to fix the same problem.
And don't let time get away from youGenerally, a lemon law case needs to be brought within the earliest of (a) 1 year following the expiration of the warranty or (b) 18 months from delivery of the vehicle to you.
The statute provides for an informal mediation process that you should use to work things out with the dealership. If the mediation isn't successful, you should hire a lawyer to take the case if you've not already consulted one.
Attorney's fees and costs are provided by the statute should you win your case.