How to Stay Out of Jail on a 4th Offense Felony DUI in California
The following guide is explains what it will take to stay out of jail in California on a 4th offense Felony DUI in California as well as list jail alternatives for a fourth DUI. This guide will also list the consequences to a fourth DUI in California.
4th Offense Felony DUI in California ConsequencesIf probation is denied, the mandatory sentence is 16 months, 2 years or a high term of 3 years state prison. If probation is granted, the mandatory minimum custody time of 180 days to 365 days; upto 10 years loss of drivers license, felony formal probation, 18 month alcohol school, 2500+ Fines, Ignition Interlock Device, felony criminal record.
How Best to Defend Against Jail TimeThe biggest mistake a person accused of a 4th offense Felony DUI is to wait to his or her arraignment to start defending the case. I advise the client immediately do the following: Wear a alcohol monitoring device such as SCRAM, attend AA meetings daily, begin a residential alcohol treatment program, attend counseling. The more time accrued on these different programs will display a willingness to address any alcohol issues. Without a sufficient display of self control, no judge will trust a defendant to be out on the street to reoffend again. You must be willing to give up alcohol for good and attend a long term treatment program immediately if you have any hope to avoid jail.
Bail issues on a 4th DUI DUITypically, bail for a 4th offense felony DUI is 100k however, in some circumstances, the judge will allow OR if the individual is on SCRAM.
What makes a 4th DUI a Felony in CaliforniaIf you have had 3 prior DUI or wet reckless convictions within the past 10 years and were arrested for a 4th DUI, your 4th DUI will be a felony.